Mostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram
2046152 2038-01-18 05:00:00.0 UTC 2038-01-18T00:00:00.000-05:00 2011-11-19 01:24:56.0 UTC 2011-11-18T20:24:56.000-05:00 content/links-times-nov-19-avastin published 2011-11-19 01:25:39.0 UTC 2011-11-18T20:25:39.000-05:00 drupal 50420 <div> On Friday, the&nbsp;Food and Drug Administration ruled that the cancer drug <a href="http://hosted.ap.org/dynamic/stories/U/US_MED_FDA_AVASTIN?SITE=FLPET&amp;SECTION=HOME&amp;TEMPLATE=DEFAULT">Avastin</a> should not be used to treat breast cancer that has spread to other organs because it doesn’t help patients enough to justify its risky side effects.&nbsp;The decision comes five months after an FDA advisory committee recommended that the federal agency withdraw its approval of Avastin for breast cancer patients. Among the patients advocating for the drug was Erin Howarth, whose use of the drug was highlighted in a 2010 St. Petersburg Times <a href="http://www.tampabay.com/news/health/medicine/article1118371.ece">article</a>. Howarth, diagnosed with Stage 4 breast cancer at age 31, credited Avastin for giving her extra years. She was 34 when she <a href="http://www.tampabay.com/news/humaninterest/cancer-warrior-erin-howarth-loses-a-bravely-fought-battle/1198760">died</a> last month. </div> <div> &nbsp; </div> On Friday, the Food and Drug Administration ruled that the cancer drug Avastin should not be used to treat breast cancer that has spread to other organs because it doesn’t help patients enough to justify its risky side effects. The decision comes five months after an FDA advisory committee recommended that the federal agency withdraw its approval of Avastin for breast cancer patients. Among the patients advocating for the drug was Erin Howarth, whose use of the drug was highlighted in a 2010 St. Petersburg Times article. Howarth, diagnosed with Stage 4 breast cancer at age 31, credited Avastin for giving her extra years. She was 34 when she died last month. Times Editor talk Links,avastin Links from the Times for Nov. 19: Avastin templatedata/tampabaytimes/BlogArticle/data/talk/2011/11/18/50420-links-times-nov-19-avastin BlogArticle 2012-11-11 18:05:45.0 UTC 2012-11-11T13:05:45.000-05:00 Links,avastinLinks,avastinruntime2016-08-30 05:55:40