Mostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram
2046523 2038-01-18 05:00:00.0 UTC 2038-01-18T00:00:00.000-05:00 2012-08-12 22:55:34.0 UTC 2012-08-12T18:55:34.000-04:00 content/rising-insurance-costs-threaten-home-sales-florida published 2012-08-12 22:55:34.0 UTC 2012-08-12T18:55:34.000-04:00 drupal 51322 As rates rise at Citizens Property Insurance Corp., real estate professionals say Florida's housing market is taking a hit. Through controversial reinspections, higher estimates of replacement costs and new sinkhole-related charges, state-run Citizens Property Insurance has raised premiums far beyond the 10-percent cap, taking in more money than ever before. Meahwhile, Florida seniors consider going without home insurance as Citizens hikes premiums. Times Editor talk Links Rising insurance costs threaten home sales in Florida templatedata/tampabaytimes/BlogArticle/data/talk/2012/08/12/51322-rising-insurance-costs-threaten-home-sales-florida BlogArticle 2012-11-11 18:09:46.0 UTC 2012-11-11T13:09:46.000-05:00 As rates rise at Citizens Property Insurance Corp., real estate professionals say Florida's housing market is taking a hit.LinksLinks<p>As rates rise at Citizens Property Insurance Corp., real estate professionals say Florida's housing market is <a href="http://www.tampabay.com/news/business/banking/rising-insurance-costs-threaten-home-sales-in-fla/1245080">taking a hit</a>. </p> <p>Through <a href="http://www.tampabay.com/news/business/banking/citizens-most-premiums-rise-with-reinspections/1245214">controversial reinspections</a>, higher estimates of replacement costs and new sinkhole-related charges, state-run Citizens Property Insurance has raised premiums far beyond the 10-percent cap, taking in more money than ever before. Meahwhile, <a href="http://www.tampabay.com/news/business/banking/florida-seniors-consider-going-without-home-insurance-as-citizens-hikes/1245225">Florida seniors</a> consider going without home insurance as Citizens hikes premiums.<br /> <br /> &nbsp;</p>falseruntime2016-08-30 05:51:14