Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

2012 GOP convention host committee formed



The nonprofit 2012 Tampa Bay Host Committee, charged with coordinating the area's efforts to woo and plan the 2012 Republican National Convention, was officially formed this week, with paperwork filed in the state's Division of Corporations. Here are the names of committee members so far:

Al Austin, chairman and CEO of Austin Companies; Don DeFosset, retired CEO of Walter Industries; Dick Beard, chairman and CEO of R.A. Beard, Co.; Ken Jones, executive vice president and general counsel for Communications Equity Associates; Ron Ciganek, executive VP of Regions Bank; Paul Catoe, president and CEO of Tampa Bay & Co.; Jim Davis, attorney,  Holland & Knight; Maryann Ferenc,  CEO of Mis En Place: Paul Tash, CEO, St. Petersburg Times; Michelle Robinson, president, Verizon Southeast Region; Joseph Kadow, executive VP, Outback Steakhouse; John Ramil, president, Tampa Electric; John R. Schueler, president, Media General, Florida Communications Group; Barney Barnett, vice-chairman, Publix Super Markets;Mel Sembler, chairman, Sembler Company, former U.S. Ambassador to Italy and Australia; former St. Petersburg Mayor Rick Baker; Kathleen Shanahan, president & CEO, WRS Compass; former Tampa Mayor Dick Greco; Chuck Sykes, CEO, Sykes Enterprises; Former Florida Gov. Bob Martinez; J. Patrick Michaels, Jr., Chairman, Communications Equity Associates; Sandy Mackinnon, CEO, Yale Industrial Trucks; Lou Plasencia, CEO, Plasencia Group; Oscar J. Horton, president, Sun State International Trucks, Inc.; Carlos Alfonso, CEO, Alfonso Architects.

[Last modified: Thursday, September 9, 2010 11:26am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours