Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Democrats pick leadership team in State House



 The Democratic Caucus in the Florida House has announced its leadership team for the upcoming legislative session.

Incoming Minority Leader Perry Thurston, D-Plantation, made the announcement Wednesday, shortly after Speaker Designate Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, made leadership announcements.

Leading the House Democratic Caucus will be:

  • Rep. Jim Waldman, D-Coconut Creek, as Floor Leader
  • Rep. Darryl Rouson, D-St. Peterburg, as Democratic Policy Advisor
  • Rep. Mia Jones, D-Jacksonville, as Leader pro tempore
  • Rep. Mark Pafford, D-West Palm Beach, as Democratic Policy Chair
  • Rep. Alan Williams, D-Tallahassee, as Democatic Whip

Democrats are looking to capitalize from increased numbers in the House, where they picked up a handful of seats, and the olive branch laid out by Weatherford, who said he wants to be an "inclusive reformer."

To that end, Thurston has made a number of recommendations asking Weatherford to include certain Democrats in high-ranking committee positions. Rep. Joe Gibbons, D-Hallandale Beach, and Rep. Janet Cruz, D-Tampa, were offered up as potential ranking members for the Budget Committee and the Ethics and Elections Subcommittee, respectively.




[Last modified: Wednesday, November 14, 2012 5:50pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours