Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Gov. Charlie Crist extends gulf oil spill disaster declaration

Now that the oil spill has reached the loop current, Gov. Charlie Crist has added several South Florida coastal counties to the list of those that could be affected: Charlotte, Lee, Collier, Monroe, Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach.

The current, a highway of water that wraps around the Florida peninsula, could shoot the oil down around the Keys and over to the Atlantic side of the state.


[Last modified: Thursday, September 9, 2010 10:38am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours