Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

House Committees announced



Among the highlights of the just-announced House Committees.

Insurance: Dennis Ross / K-12: Anitere Flores / Healthcare: Aaron Bean / Juvenile Justice: Mitch Needelman / Urban and Local Affairs: Julio Robaina / Conservation & State Lands: Will Kendrick / Economic Development: Don Davis / Business Regulation: Carlos Lopez-Cantera / Utilities & Telecommunications: Dave Murzin / Ethics & Elections: Pat Patterson.

No Democrats will head a committee, unlike in the Senate. But Speaker Marco Rubio said the new "ranking member" system will give Democrats a viable voice. Rep. Dan Gelber, the ranking Democrat, readily agrees. Gelber was also given the opportunity to essentially place Democrats on committees, a privilege previously not afforded to the minority party.

Here is the full list of assignments > Council-Committee.pdf .

[Last modified: Wednesday, September 15, 2010 11:43am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours