Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

House Speaker Dean Cannon announces 2011/2012 committee assignments



House speaker Dean Cannon has announced his 2011/2012 committee assignments. A few items of note: Rep. Dana Young, R-Tampa, has here first committee leadership post. She'll serve as vice chair of the Government Operations Subcommittee, replacing Debbie Mayfield, R-Vero Beach. Rep. Matt Gaetz, R-Fort Walton Beach, also has his first committee leadership post, named as vice chair of the K-20 Innovation Subcommittee, replacing Eddy Gonzalez, R-Hialeah. And possible future House speaker Chris Dorworth, R-Lake Mary, has been named vice chair of the Appropriations Committee, bumping Paige Kreegel, R-Punta Gorda. Richard Corcoran, R-New Port Richey, also in line for a speakership, is vice chair of the Health Care Appropriations Committee, replacing Kenneth Roberson, R-Port Charlotte.

See the whole list here.

[Last modified: Friday, August 12, 2011 5:40pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours