Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

How Florida voted on assault weapons ban illustrates mixed views in both parties



As talk turns to gun control, it's worthwhile to look at the 1994 assault weapons ban, which lasted for a decade until failing to be renewed. The Florida delegation revealed mixed views among Republicans and Democrats, showing the gun issue crosses party lines.

Floridians who voted for the ban were: Democrats Jim Bacchus of Belle Isle, Corrine Brown of Jacksonville, Peter Deutsch of Lauderhill, Sam Gibbons of Tampa, Alcee Hastings of Miami, Harry Johnston of West Palm Beach and Carrie Meek of Miami and Republicans Dan Miller of Bradenton, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen of Miami, Clay Shaw of Fort Lauderdale and C.W. Bill Young of Indian Rocks Beach.

Floridians who voted against the ban were: Democrats Earl Hutto of Panama City, Pete Peterson of Marianna and Karen Thurman of Dunnellon and Republicans Michael Bilirakis of Palm Harbor, Charles Canady of Lakeland, Lincoln Diaz-Balart of Miami, Tillie Fowler of Jacksonville, Porter Goss of Sanibel, Tom Lewis of North Palm Beach, Bill McCollum of Longwood, John Mica of Winter Park and Cliff Stearns of Ocala.

In the Senate, Republican Connie Mack voted against the ban; Democrat Bob Graham voted for it.


[Last modified: Monday, December 17, 2012 12:53pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours