Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

How senators voted on anti-privatization "study"



Here's how members of the Florida Senate voted Monday on an amendment that would have gutted a major prison privatization bill (SB 2038) by replacing it with a study. A yes vote would have effectively killed privatization; a no vote keeps the measure alive. The Senate has 28 Republicans and 12 Democrats.

YES (19)

Oscar Braynon, D-Miami Gardens; Larcenia Bullard, D-Miami; Charlie Dean, R-Inverness; Miguel Diaz de la Portilla, R-Miami; Paula Dockery, R-Lakeland; Greg Evers, R-Baker; Mike Fasano, R-New Port Richey; Audrey Gibson, D-Jacksonville; Arthenia Joyner, D-Tampa; Jack Latvala, R-Clearwater; Gwen Margolis, D-Aventura; Bill Montford, D-Tallahassee; Steve Oelrich, R-Alachua; Nan Rich, D-Weston; Jeremy Ring, D-Margate; Maria Sachs, D-Delray Beach; Chris Smith, D-Fort Lauderdale; Eleanor Sobel, D-Hollywood; Ronda Storms, R-Valrico.

NO (21)

JD Alexander, R-Lake Wales; Thad Altman, R-Melbourne; Lizbeth Benacquisto, R-Wellington; Mike Bennett, R-Bradenton; Ellyn Bogdanoff, R-Fort Lauderdale; Nancy Detert, R-Venice; Anitere Flores, R-Miami; Don Gaetz, R-Niceville; Rene Garcia, R-Hialeah; Andy Gardiner, R-Orlando; Mike Haridopolos, R-Merritt Island; Alan Hays, R-Umatilla; Dennis Jones, R-Seminole; Evelyn Lynn, R-Ormond Beach; Joe Negron, R-Stuart; Jim Norman, R-Tampa; Garrett Richter, R-Naples; David Simmons, R-Altamonte Springs; Gary Siplin, D-Orlando; John Thrasher, R-St. Augustine; Steve Wise, R-Jacksonville.

[Last modified: Monday, February 13, 2012 5:39pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours