Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Jeremy Alters to tinker with primary system



Alters South Florida trial lawyer and Democratic bundler Jeremy Alters has placed on the DNC's new 37-member Commission for Change to look at improving the nominating system. There probably won't be much of a Democratic primary battle in 2012, but the Commission appointed by DNC Chairman Tim Kaine is looking at changing the window within which caucuses and primaries can be held, reducing the number of superdelegates and improving the caucus system.

Doesn't sound like there's much interest in letting Florida or Michigan bump ahead of the likes of New Hampshire: RESOLVED FURTHER: That the Delegate Selection Rules for the 2012 Convention shall provide that no meetings, caucuses, conventions or primaries which constitute the first determining stage in the presidential nomination process (the date of the primary in primary states and the date of the first tier caucus in caucus states) shall be held prior to the first Tuesday in March of the election year, except as otherwise provided in the Delegate Selection Rules and recognizing the valuable role played by the approved pre-Window states in 2008;

(continued) and provided that no such meeting, caucus, convention or primary shall in any event be held prior to February 1 of the calendar year of the National Convention; and that the Commission also shall review the sequence and scheduling of primaries and caucuses with a view towards reducing the scheduling of such events on the first allowable date that resulted in 22 primaries and caucuses being held on such date in 2008 and toward reducing frontloading within the Window period; and that the Commission shall review the rules for proper enforcement of the primary and caucus timing requirements and delegate allocation matters, particularly with respect to action by the Rules and Bylaws Committee...

Co-Chairs: Congressman Jim Clyburn, Columbia, S.C.; Sen. Claire McCaskill, St. Louis.

Commission Members: Grassroots Activist Jeremy Alters, Miami, Fla.; political strategist Jeff Berman, Washington, D.C.; grassroots activist Ashley Bliss, Atlanta; state Rep. Dan Blue, Raleigh, N.C.; political strategist Bill Carrick, Los Angeles; Mayor Michael Coleman, Columbus, Ohio; political strategist Jeff Forbes, Washington, D.C.; grassroots activist Joan Garry, Montclair, N.J.; state Chair Larry Gates, Overland Park, Kan.; school board member Adelita Grijalva, Tucson, Ariz.; professor Rob Hampshire, Pittsburgh; former state Chair Ned Helms, Concord, N.H.; former Labor Secretary Alexis Herman; McLean, Va.; Chairman Ron His Horse Is Thunder, Standing Rock Sioux Tribe; IBT president James Hoffa; Detroit; grassroots activist Roseanne Hope; Minneapolis; state Sen. Steven Horsford, Las Vegas; grassroots activist Suzie LeVine, Seattle; UAW CAP director Dick Long, Detroit; grassroots activist Andres Lopez, San Juan, Puerto Rico; former Attorney General Patricia Madrid, Albuquerque, N.M.; DNC member Debbie Marquez, Edwards, Colo.; state Sen. Iris Martinez, Chicago; delegate Jennifer McClellan, Richmond, Va.; Secretary of State Linda McCulloch, Helena, Mont.; Attorney General Tom Miller; Des Moines, Iowa; DNC member Minyon Moore, Washington, D.C.; grassroots activist Sunah Park, Philadelphia; campaign manager David Plouffe, Washington, D.C.; grassroots activist Rebecca Prozan, San Francisco; DNC member James Roosevelt Jr., Cambridge, Mass; Congresswoman Linda Sanchez, Lakewood, Calif.; AFT president Randi Weingarten, New York City; state Chair Meredith Wood Smith; Portland, Ore.; grassroots activist Martin Yeung, Rapid City, S.D.


[Last modified: Thursday, September 9, 2010 7:33pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours