Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

The last legislative leader to win statewide

Some names that should give pause to Republican U.S. Senate candidate Marco Rubio (and Senate Crawford potential CFO candidate Jeff Atwater, among others): House Speaker Ralph Haben; Senate President Harry Johnston; Senate President John Vogt; House Speaker Tom Gustafson; Senate President Ander Crenshaw; House Speaker Peter Wallace; House Speaker Johnnie Byrd; Senate President Tom Lee.

All were presiding officers in the Legislature who learned that being a big shot in Tallahassee by no means ensures statewide electoral success. Am I missing anyone?

The only presiding officer in the past generation to win statewide? Senate President Bob Crawford, elected commissioner of agriculture nearly 20 years ago.


[Last modified: Thursday, September 9, 2010 5:58pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours