Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Marco Rubio tops Florida Catholics for Romney team



U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio, Mel Martinez and Jeff Atwater top the Florida Catholics for Romney Leadership Team, which is composed of more than 100 men and women from Florida’s Catholic community, the campaign announced today.

"I'm proud to serve as a statewide co-chair of Florida Catholics For Romney because religious freedom is one of the most precious and critical rights in our country, and protecting it is our duty,” Rubio said in a release.  “Religious freedom was a founding principle of the greatest nation the world has ever known, and I know that Mitt Romney will ensure that this right is protected for all Americans."

To date, self-identified Catholic volunteers in Florida have made more than 70,000 calls on behalf of the ticket.

Honorary Chairs

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio

Florida CFO Jeff Atwater

U.S. Senator Mel Martinez and Kitty Martinez

Senator Mike Fasano


Senator Pat Neal


Senator Steve Oehlrich


Senator David Simmons


Representative Matt Hudson


Representative Paige Kreegel


Representative Steve Precourt


Jay Demetree


Nancy and Ted McGowan


Ann Morris


Charles O’Malley


Robert Shircliff


Matt Soldano




Regional Chairs


Lourdes Del Castillo


John and Clare Clegg


Robert Costa


Suzanne Davis


Terry Denton


Commissioner Brian Desloge


Joe and Julie Helow


Erik Kirk


Carrie Lee


Bertica and Brian Morris


Stephen Pickert


JoRie Robin


Bob Rosasco


Tom and Glory Sullivan


Herb and Catherine Yardley




County Chairs


Glen Leirer


Thelma Rohan


Brian and Meredith Wilson


Robert Siedlecki


Amber Stoner


Linda Cumbie


Mayra Filmore


Tracy Melvin


Bill Readdy


Stephen Zieman


Ruth Dupont-Esser


Diane Hightower


Remzey Samarrai


Nick Shanks


Alex Patton


Dr. Len Schlofman


Dr. Ann Wiggins


Rick Hartley


Rick Mullaney


John Deakins


Mary Downey


Dorothy “Pat” Greenfield


Maureen and Joe Cabaska


Linda del Gallego


Caroline Ginn


Chet Sedke


Gloria Fano


Nanette Parratto-Wagner


Helen Kraus


Mike Klockenkemper


Jennifer Dawn Wagner


Peg Norton


Stan Jarusinski


Ann Rise


Sonia Mori


Steve Gosney


Louis Clinie


Angel Hernandez


Ana Trinque


Teresa Timmons


Tom Gaitens


Oscar Kanahan


Scott and Deidre Peek, Jr.


Representative Trey Traviesa


Bill Galvano


Carlos Beruff


Maryann Grgic


Mary Slapp


Hon. Donna Hayes


Pat and Larry Chandler


Kelli Mondello


Representative Larry Ahern


Darlene Wood-Harvey


Joe Gruters


Pat and Dick Stusek


Christine and Eric Robinson


Dick Maier


Beridga DeNapoli


Roxanne Mathieu


Angela Ashley


Jennifer Parker


Jean Lee


Maria Lima


Jim and Laurie Druyor


Robert Strayton


Theresa Murtha


Cheryl Bailey


Carol Donahue-Moore


Ed Malone


Mary Stuller


Kathleen Sullivan


Frank Grywalski


Lourdes Aguirre


Mike Rodriguez


Warren Lutz


Marili Cancio


Viviana and Steve Bovo


Ariel Fernandez


Allison Lawton


Willy Guardiola


Brian Scott Deason


Tom Danks

[Last modified: Monday, September 10, 2012 3:02pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours