Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Mayor Baker on Crist's climate team



St. Petersburg Mayor Rick Baker will serve as vice chairman of Gov. Charlie Crist's action team on climate change. Crist announced the 21-member panel Monday morning. It will be headed by DEP Secretary Mike Sole and will make recommendations on energy policy in November.

"He's a dear friend and someone I have enormous respect for," Crist said of Baker. The full line-up is posted in the jump.

Energy Action Team

The Florida Governor’s Action Team on Energy and Climate Change will consist of 21 members, each appointed to a term beginning August 13, 2007, and ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

“By appointing diverse stakeholders to represent the people of Florida, we will create a Florida Energy and Climate Change Action Plan that will include long-term plans to reduce emissions, including recommendations for proposed legislation for the 2008 Legislative Session and beyond,” said Governor Crist.

Secretary Michael W. Sole of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) will serve as chairman of the action team. DEP will provide administrative support. The Department of Community Affairs, Department of Transportation, Public Service Commission and the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission will also provide assistance at the request of the chairman. 

“Climate change could significantly impact Florida’s businesses and disturb the way of life enjoyed by millions of Floridians,” said Secretary Michael W. Sole. “Florida is more vulnerable to rising ocean levels and violent weather patterns than any other state, and I am confident the actions we take to reduce greenhouse gases can reduce the potential for these harsh consequences.”

Appointments to the Governor’s Action Team on Energy and Climate Change include:

    ·  Secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection
    Secretary Michael W. Sole, chairman

    ·  Chair of the Florida Public Service Commission
    Chairperson Lisa Edgar

    ·  Four members of the Florida Legislature

      Senator Jeff Atwater, Senator Al Lawson, Representative Stan Mayfield, Representative Dan Gelber

    ·  Consumer Advocate
    Jack Shreve, senior counsel to the Governor

    ·  Five representatives of the environmental community

      Manley Fuller, Florida Wildlife Federation; David Guest, Earthjustice; Debbie Harrison, World Wildlife Fund; Gerald Karnas, Environmental Defense; Charles Pattison, 1000 Friends of Florida

    ·  Three representatives of the business community

      Jerry Montgomery, Mark Kaplan, Kathleen Shanahan

    ·  Chair of the Energy Commission

Chairman Tommy Boroughs

    ·  Three members of the academic community

      Dr. Lonnie Ingram, professor of microbiology, Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences, University of Florida; Camille Coley, executive assistant vice president for research, Florida Atlantic University; Dr. James Fenton, Florida Solar Energy Center, University of Central Florida

    ·  One representative of the utilities industry

Armando Olivera, president, FPL Group

    ·  One local government representative
    Mayor Rick Baker, vice-chairman


[Last modified: Wednesday, September 15, 2010 12:57pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours