Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Rick Perry names Presidency 5 leadership team



Rick Perry today announced his leadership team for Presidency 5, tapping Florida House Speaker Dean Cannon serving as chairman.

“Florida is critical to the presidential nomination process, so I look forward to bringing my pro-jobs, conservative message to Florida and the Presidency 5 events,” Gov. Perry said. “Floridians care about jobs, fiscal responsibility and ending Obamacare and other federal excesses. I am pleased to have the opportunity to share my record and vision for job creation and fiscal conservatism with the voters of the Sunshine State.”

“Gov. Perry knows that the path to the nomination and eventually the White House goes through Florida,” said Speaker Cannon. “He also knows how critical it is for Florida’s grassroots leaders to get a chance to know the candidates early, which is why he is focused on this state and participating in Presidency 5.”
In addition to Cannon, conservative activists John Stemberger and Pam Olsen will serve as co-chairs. Stemberger is president of the Florida Family Policy Council.  Olsen is the founder and president of the Florida Prayer Network.  Also serving as co-chairs are Pasco County Republican Bill Bunting, a leader in the effort to protect the second amendment, and Orange County Republican Activist Lew Oliver.  Dr. A.K. Desai, CEO of Universal Health Care Group, Inc., will also serve as a co-chair and help recruit delegates.
Gov. Perry has also announced the following elected officials to serve as co-chairs: Senator Don Gaetz, R-Crestview, State Rep. Rachel Burgin, R-Riverview, State Rep. Clay Ingram, R-Pensacola, Broward County Commissioner Chip Lamarca, Miami-Dade County Commissioner Esteban Bovo and Orange County Property Appraiser Bill Donegan.

[Last modified: Tuesday, September 20, 2011 3:27pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours