Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Speaker-designate Dean Cannon names 7 chairs



House Speaker-Designate Dean Cannon on Monday announced seven more committee chairs as part of the new House senior leadership team that will take office Tuesday. Previously, the Winter Park Republican announced that Rep. Denise Grimsley, R-Lake Placid, would be the House budget chair, and Rep. Gary Aubuchon, R-Cape Coral, would be chairman of the Rules Committee.

The new House chairs are Reps. Dorothy Hukill, R-Port Orange, on the House Economic Affairs Committee; Rep. William Proctor, R-St. Augustine, Education; Rep. Steve Precourt, R-Orlando, Finance & Tax; Rep. Rob Schenck, R-Spring Hill, Health & Human Services; Rep. Will Snyder, R-Stuart, Judiciary; Rep. Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, Redistricting; and Rep. Seth McKeel, R-Lakeland, State Affairs, which will oversee agriculture, environment, energy, utilities, telecommunications and state agency governance.  

Cannon said he would appoint subcommittee chairs before the week of Dec. 6, the next regularly scheduled week of committee meetings.


[Last modified: Monday, November 15, 2010 12:53pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours