Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Thompson names Tampa Bay organizers



Republican Fred Thompson rolled out his local grassroots organizers for the Tampa Bay area. These folks -- including a number of big names -- are leading the charge as chairman for their respective counties:

In Pinellas, County Commission Chairman Ronnie Duncan; in Hillsborough, Sandy Murman, former House Speaker Pro Tem and state committeeman A.J. Matthews; in Pasco, the trifeca of Zephyrhills Councilman Danny Burgess, Dade City Mayor Pro Tem Steve Van Gorden and Property Appraiser Mike Wells; in Hernando, Commission Chairman Jeff Stabins; and in Manatee, Bradenton Vice Mayor Gene Gallo and Bradenton Councilman Patrick Roff.

For a full list of local organizers keep reading below.

Senator Fred Thompson's presidential campaign today expanded his political and volunteer organization in Central Florida, naming county and volunteer chairmen in Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco and Pinellas Counties.

County chairmen serve as local surrogates, spreading Senator Thompson's message throughout their respective counties. Volunteer chairmen serve as the liaison between local volunteers and the state campaign headquarters and work to locate and organize supporters and coordinate volunteer activities in communities within the county.

Daniel Burgess serves on the Zephyrhills City Council, a position he was elected to in 2005. A lifelong resident of Zephyrhills, Burgess is the co-founder and president of the local Reagan Republican Club.   

Ronnie Duncan serves as the chairman of the Pinellas County Commission. He is the founder and president of The Duncan Companies Inc., a real estate firm based in Tampa Bay, and also serves as the vice chairman of the Tampa Bay Regional Transportation Authority.

Gene Gallo is the vice mayor of Bradenton, currently serving his fourth term on the city council. He retired from the City of Bradenton Fire Department after more than 31 years of service including more than a decade as fire chief.

Patrick Roff is a member of the Bradenton City Council. He also serves as chairman of the City of Bradenton Tree Board on the city's Comprehensive Plan Review Committee.

Bemis Smith serves on the Bradenton City Council and is a partner with MBK properties Inc. He served as the Florida Executive Director for the 1988 Bush/Quayle Campaign.

Jeff Stabins is the chairman of the Hernando County Commission. He previously served eight years in the Florida House of Representatives, elected in 1992 and re-elected subsequently.

Steve Van Gorden is the mayor pro tem of Dade City. He was elected to the city commission in 2004 and appointed mayor pro tem in 2006. Van Gorden is the principal of Hudson Middle School in Dade City.

Mike Wells is the Pasco County Property Appraiser. He was elected to his current position in 1997 and re-elected subsequently.  Wells previously served on the Pasco County Commission and is a veteran of United States Army.

County leadership positions announced today include:

Chairman - Jeff Stabins, Chairman, County Commission                                                   
Volunteer Co-Chair - Gail Samples, State Committeewoman                                                               
Volunteer Co-Chair - Mary Lou Wright    

Co-Chairman - Sandy Murman, former Speaker Pro Tempore, Florida House of Representatives
Co-Chairman - AJ Matthews, State Committeeman                                       
Volunteer Co-Chair - Ben Kelly      
Volunteer Co-Chair for East Hillsborough - Patty McClure
Volunteer Co-Chair for South Tampa - Ginny Vickers

Co-Chairman - Gene Gallo, Vice Mayor, Bradenton
Co-Chairman - Patrick Roff
Co-Chairman - Bemis Smith, City Councilman, Bradenton
Volunteer Co-Chair - Steve Rowland

Co-Chairman - Danny Burgess, City Councilman, Zephyrhills   
Co-Chairman  - Steve Van Gorden, Mayor Pro Tempore, Dade City 
Co-Chairman - Mike Wells, Property Appraiser
Volunteer Co-Chair - Randy Maggard                                                                  
Volunteer Co-Chair - Sandy Werner       

Chairman - Ronnie Duncan, Chairman, County Commission   
Volunteer Co-Chair - Barbara Frascella
Volunteer Co-Chair - Ernest Utegaard

[Last modified: Wednesday, September 15, 2010 2:09pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours