Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Thurman retains Democratic Party chair



As expected, Karen Thurman was re-elected today in Orlando to a second term as head of the Florida Democratic Party.

The Florida Democratic Party Executive Committee also elected a new vice chair, secretary, treasurer and 10 Democratic National Committee members.

Rhett Bullard, a life-long resident of Hamilton County, was elected as party Vice-Chair. Bullard, who has been a leader in organizing and fundraising for Democrats in rural areas across North Florida, will assist Thurman in recruiting candidates, fundraising, and expanding our party throughout the state. Rick Boylan of Pinellas County was elected as party Secretary. Leon County resident and labor leader Alma Gonzalez will serve as Treasurer.

In addition to Thurman and Bullard, who as Chair and Vice-Chair, serve as members of the Democratic National Committee, party leaders elected the 10 members of the DNC from Florida. They include:

Sen. Tony Hill, Duval; Mitch Ceasar, Broward; Chuck Mohlke, Collier; Alan Clendenin, Hillsborough; Jon Ausman, Leon; Diane Glasser, Broward; Terrie Brady, Duval; Nancy Jacobson, Orange; Joyce Cusack. Volusia; Evelyn Garcia, Palm Beach.

[Last modified: Tuesday, September 14, 2010 3:10pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours