Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Corcoran briefs House members on new speaker's transition



House Speaker-Designate Richard Corcoran, R-Land O'Lakes, updated House members Tuesday on planned changes to committees, staffing, a rewrite of the rules and other issues.

Corcoran said revisions to the House committee structure will be released by Sept. 30 and that his leadership team, including the majority leader and all committee chairmen, will be announced on Nov. 9, the day after the general election. Corcoran has not named any chairs, but it's widely expected that Rep. Carlos Trujillo, a Miami Republican, will chair the budget-writing Appropriations Committee.

"We will break with the prior practice wherein the speaker makes all appointments in isolation," Corcoran told lawmakers. "Instead, the leadership team will work collaboratively on the appointment of the committee vice chairs and subcommittee chairs."

House members will get committee assignment preference forms on Nov. 15. A draft rewrite of the House rules for the 2016-2018 cycle will be available by Nov. 10, Corcoran said.

The Pasco Republican said in his memo that he hopes to finalize staff assignments by the end of next month. In addition to chief of staff Mathew Bahl, Corcoran's senior staff includes Lynn Cobb, Tom Hamby and Carol Gormley on policy; Tony Cortese (process); Celeste Lewis (administration); Fred Piccolo (communications) and James Blair (external affairs). JoAnne Leznoff will stay on as staff director of the House Appropriations Committee, Stephanie Birtman will remain at Rules, and Joanna Hassell will rejoin the House staff next month in the education policy unit.

Corcoran will succeed Rep. Steve Crisafulli, R-Merritt Island, as speaker of the 120-member House in a swearing-in ceremony at a one-day organizational session on Tuesday, Nov. 22.

[Last modified: Tuesday, August 23, 2016 2:04pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours