Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

DuBose, Farmer named leaders of Broward County legislative delegation



A state representative entering his second term and a freshman senator in his first elected office have been named the leaders for Broward County's legislative delegation for the 2017 session.

State Rep. Bobby DuBose and state Sen. Gary Farmer, both Democrats from Fort Lauderdale, were elected as chairman and vice-chairman, respectively, by the 19-member delegation on Thursday.

The delegation's chairmen and vice-chairmen serve one-year terms.

DuBose was first elected to the Legislature in 2014 and was reelected this year without opposition.

Farmer is a consumer advocate attorney and former president of the Florida Justice Association. He won Broward County's District 34 Senate seat with 63 percent of the vote.

DuBose and Farmer, respectively, replace former Democratic state Rep. Gwyndolen Clarke-Reed and Sen. Chris Smith.

Welcome our New #Session2017 Chair @RepBobbyDuBose and Vice Chair @garymfarmer. Thank you @ULBroward and all of our wonderful Sponsors.

— Broward Delegation (@BrowardLegDel) November 18, 2016

[Last modified: Monday, November 21, 2016 11:19am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours