Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Florida Democrats announce Janet Reno Grant panel



From a release: Tallahassee — Today, the Florida Democratic Party announced the seven panelists who will oversee the review of applications for the 2017 Janet Reno Challenge Grant.

The grant will distribute ten $5,000 and twenty $2,500 merit-based awards to small and medium-sized county Democratic parties. The goal of the Challenge Grant is to immediately provide small and medium-sized counties, clubs and caucuses, a boost of funds to begin the new mission of turning the FDP into a year-round grassroots organizing machine.

We are pleased to announce that Florida Democratic Party First Vice Chair Judy Mount, of Jackson County, will Chair the Panel. She will be joined on the panel by the following distinguished party leaders:

— Nikki Barnes, Wakulla County, State Committeewoman and DNC Member
— Leah Carius, Osceola County, DEC Chair
— Juan Cuba, Miami-Dade County, DEC Chair
— Lisa King, Duval County, State Committeewoman
— Russ Patterson, Hillsborough County, State Committeeman
— Ian Whitney, Hillsborough County, Former State Committeeman and Monroe County DEC Chair

“We are excited to announce our seven panelists who will review the applications for the 2017 Janet Reno Challenge Grant,” said FDP Chair Stephen Bittel. “The FDP is committed to building a 67 county grassroots organizing operation that competes for every vote in every city in every county across Florida. This grant will help kickstart our grassroots mobilization, increase Democratic voter registration and activism across the state and I’m grateful to our panelists for their leadership in this effort.”

[Last modified: Tuesday, February 14, 2017 2:36pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours