Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Florida Republicans contribute to growing national NeverTrump list



The New York Times has compiled a list of 110 Republican leaders nationwide who won’t vote for Donald Trump. The online display matches their announcements with controversial statements made by Trump.

The Floridians on the list:

Carlos Curbelo

Mel Martinez

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen

Jeb Bush

And here are some prominent Florida Republicans not on the NYT list:

Sally Bradshaw

Mac Stipanovich

Kathleen Shanahan

These Florida lawmakers haven’t publicly joined the Never Trump gang but they haven’t said much of anything about the nominee. That does not necessarily mean they will vote against him, but the silence is notable.

Jeff Atwater

Tom Lee

Miguel Diaz de la Portilla

Don Gaetz

Nancy Detert

Anitere Flores

Additionally, some Republicans have expressed concern about Trump's long-term effect on the party. 

"Seen this movie before. My friends in Tallahassee all said I had to support @CharlieCrist for the GOP. He did lasting damage to the party," State Rep. James Grant (@JamesGrantFL) tweeted on Wednesday.

--- Steve Bousquet contributed reporting.

If you know of others, please email me (aleary at

[Last modified: Tuesday, August 30, 2016 12:03pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours