Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Florida Republicans divided as House approves budget deal



Seven Florida Republicans joined Democrats this evening in approving a sweeping budget deal that surfaced this week and could put an end to the cliff hangers Washington -- and the rest of the country -- have come to expect.

Reps. Vern Buchanan, Ander Crenshaw, Carlos Curbelo, Mario Diaz-Balart, David Jolly, John Mica and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen were among the 266 yes votes.

Florida Republicans voting no: Gus Bilirakis, Curt Clawson, Ron DeSantis, Jeff Miller, Richard Nugent, Bill Posey, Tom Rooney, Dennis Ross, Daniel Webster and Ted Yoho.

All Florida Democrats voted yes.

The deal now goes to the Senate.

[Last modified: Wednesday, October 28, 2015 6:23pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours