Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Hurricane Matthew closes state offices, parks



State offices in 26 counties on the Atlantic coast and in Central Florida will be closed Thursday and Friday as the state braces for Hurricane Matthew, a Category 3 storm that could intensify as it moves north from the Caribbean.

Offices owned by the state in Miami, Ft. Lauderdale, Jacksonville and Orlando are among those slated to close at the direction of Gov. Rick Scott.

Already, the Third, Fourth and Fifth district courts of appeal announced they would close Thursday and Friday, as have trial courts in 20 counties.

Here's the full list of counties where state offices won't open Thursday and Friday, per an announcement by Maggie Mickler, spokeswoman for the Department of Management Services: Baker, Brevard, Broward, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Glades, Hendry, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Marion, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe, Nassau, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Palm Beach, Polk, Putnam, Seminole, St. Johns, St. Lucie and Volusia.

As well, Scott ordered 10 state parks to close:

* Anastasia State Park
* Avalon State Park
* Blue Springs State Park
* Ft. Pierce Inlet State Park
* Jack Island State Park
* North Peninsula State Park
* Okeechobee Battlefield State Park
* Savannahs State Park
* Sebastian Inlet State Park
* St. Lucie Inlet State Park

[Last modified: Wednesday, October 5, 2016 4:07pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours