Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Jeb Jr. and Slater Bayliss step up



Jeb Bush Jr. will join Slater Bayliss to co-chair MavPAC Florida, part of a national organization working to engage young professional Republicans in the political process.

“I’m excited to welcome Jeb Bush Jr. to the MavPAC Florida team,” said lobbyist Slater Bayliss, who also serves on the national MavPAC board. “MavPAC Florida’s goal is to attract young, professional conservatives who are actively involved in the most important issues affecting the future of our state and our nation. I look forward to working with Jeb Jr. as we continue to provide a vehicle to put those ideals into action.”

“Conservative policies are working to turn around our economy in Florida, and I am glad that Maverick PAC’s Jeb Jr. and Slater are blazing the trail for the next-generation of Republicans,” said Gov. Rick Scott. “We have a unique opportunity for young reform-minded conservatives to shape the direction of our great state and our nation.”

MavPAC recently hosted a no-press-allowed National Annual Conference in Miami with speakers, including Sen. Marco Rubio, former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, Attorney General Pam Bondi, Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater, Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services Adam Putnam, and Florida House Speaker Will Weatherford.

"Jeb Jr. and Slater Bayliss are uniquely qualified to ensure MavPAC Florida’s success,” said former Gov. Jeb Bush. “As young professionals who are involved in their communities and the political process, they have the experience and knowledge in how to encourage their peers across Florida to support the conservative leaders America needs. With these two leading the charge, MavPAC Florida will make a distinct mark in Republican politics.”

The group also announced regional chairs for Florida:  Miami: Luis Andre Gazitua, Gazitua Letelier, Edward Crawford, Goldman Sachs and Nicole Desiree Valls, Valls Group Inc. and Global Miami Joint Ventures; Fort Lauderdale/Palm Beach: Keith Sonderling, Gunster Law Firm; Tampa: E. Tyler Cathey, Englander Fischer, Robert “Rob” Gidel, Jr., Holland & Knight and Glenton “Glen” Gilzean Jr., Step Up For Students; Orlando: Lucas Boyce, Orlando Magic, Alan Florez, Brown & Brown Insurance and Armando Gutierrez Jr, privately held investment company; The Villages: Justin Wilson, The Villages, Jacksonville: Brian Harris, Akerman Senterfitt and Kristin Seay, CSX Transportation, Tallahassee: Brandi Brown, Foundation for Excellence in Education, Jose Gonzalez, Anheuser-Busch Companies, Toby Philpot, Health Management Associates and Michael Sevi, Office of the Governor; Pensacola: Doug Bates, Clark, Partington, Hart and Frank White, CollegeFrog. For complete biographical listing of MavPAC Regional Chairs, go to

[Last modified: Wednesday, September 11, 2013 10:47pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours