Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Meet Florida's Hillary Clinton-friendly Democratic superdelegates



Most of the attention on Florida's March 15 presidential primary has been lavished on the crowded Republican side (Even former candidates such as Chris Christie, Carly Fiorina, and Mike Huckabee will be on the ballot, by the way), in which whoever wins the most votes will receive all 99 GOP delegates at stake.

The Democrats' delegate system is much more complicated. At stake are 246 delegates to the Democratic National Convention in Cleveland and 18 alternates. The biggest piece of that pie — 140 delegates — is distributed proportipnally based on how the candidates fare in each congressional district. Another 46 at-large delegates are distributed based on the candidates' statewide performance.

Then there are the so-called Democratic "superdelegates" or unpledged party leaders and elected officials, which could wind up being Hillary Clinton's saving grace if Bernie Sanders continues to be as strong as he has been so far. In New Hampshire, for instance, Sanders trounced Clinton by more than 20 percentage points, and yet he wound up with 15 delegates and she wound up with 14. These superdelegates include members of Democratic National Committee and of Congress — and they overwhelmingly favor Clinton.

Here are Florida's Democratic superdelegates:

DNC member and Florida Democratic chairwoman Allison Tant of Leon County*; DNC member Jon Ausman of Leon County*, DNC member Alan Clendenin of Hillsborough*, DNC member Bret Berlin of Miami-Dade*, DNC member Rick Boylan of Pinellas; DNC member Mitchell Ceasar of Broward*, DNC member Joyce Cusack of Volusia*, DNC member Alma Gonzalez of Hillsborough*, DNC member Tony Hill of Duval*, DNC member Marian Williams of Seminole, DNC member Nancy Jacobson of Orange, DNC member Annette Taddeo*, DNC member Stephen Bittel of Miami-Dade, DNC member Joe Falk of Miami-Dade*, DNC member Katherine Fernandez-Rundle of Miami-Dade, DNC member Angel Gomez of Broward*; DNC member Cindy Lerner of Miami-Dade*, DNC member Carlos Odio of Miami-Dade, DNC member Andy Tobias of Miami-Dade, DNC Chairwoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, DNC member Alan Williams of Leon*; former DNC Chairman Ken Curtis; U.S. Sen. Bill Nelson*, U.S. Reps. Corrine Brown*, Kathy Castor*, Ted Deutch*, Lois Frankel*, Gwen Graham, Alan Grayson*, Alcee Hastings*, Patrick Murphy*, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Frederica Wilson*.

*Members of the Clinton campaign's "Florida Leadership Council"

[Last modified: Friday, February 12, 2016 11:35am]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours