Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Meet Jeb Bush's Statewide Campus Chairs



Jeb Bush's presidential campaign is still plowing ahead with its efforts to amass volunteers in an effort to turn that support into voters when the first caucus and primary ballots are cast next year.

Tuesday, the campaign named six "Florida Statewide Campus Chairs" and 28 "campus leaders" to champion the candidate at their college campuses. They form part of a network that extends across 300 campuses in 45 states, the campaign says.

Numbers like that have done little to give Bush traction in public-opinion polls, but his advisers and strategists insist it's fundraising, organization and supporters on the ground that matter in the long run.

"Our mission is to share Governor Bush's record and plan for the future with every student on every Florida campus," Elizabeth Hyatt of the University of Florida said in a statement provided by the campaign. "We're working hard to actively engage our peers, the next generation of leaders, and turnout the vote for Jeb."

Here's the list:

Florida Statewide Campus Chairs
Courtney Anne Atwater, Florida State University
Alexis Catalayud, Florida International University
Victoria Hurley, Florida State University
Elizabeth Hyatt, University of Florida
Danny Jativa, Florida State University
Adam Cross, Former Chair of Florida Federation of College Republicans

Campus Leaders
*Campus leadership team still in formation
Michael Baska, Florida State University
Davis Bean, University of Florida
Michael Beato, University of Florida
Katherine Bolt, Florida International University
Javier Bustos, University of Central Florida
Chloe Castay, Palm Beach Atlantic University
Victoria Chandler, University of North Florida
Ben Garner, University of North Florida
Dan Guethon, Florida Atlantic University
Rachel Houston, Florida State University
Casey Hutson, University of West Florida
Linea Knox, University of Central Florida
Rebecca McLaughlin, University of Central Florida
Marquise McMiller, Florida A&M University
Frank Moehrle, University of Florida Law
Michael Moffa, Barry University Law
Andrew Morrison, Florida Gulf Coast University
Anushka Patel, Florida State University
Christopher Pina, Florida International University Law
Victoria Price, University of Florida
Anthony Rivera, Florida International University
Ashley Scarpone, Florida International University
Todd P. Scholl, Stetson University College of Law
Solomon Schoonover, University of Miami Law
Aislinn Sroczynski, University of Tampa
Connor Tomlinson, University of South Florida
Lisa Walker, University of Miami
Susan Walker, Florida Atlantic University

[Last modified: Tuesday, October 20, 2015 5:16pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours