Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

Rubio shows Florida muscle with long endorsement list



Marco Rubio on Friday announced a list of more than 80 officials in Florida who have backed him, many making the jump from Jeb Bush.

Notably missing: Attorney General Pam Bondin and Gov. Rick Scott and Bush. And Rubio has ground to make up, with polls show him losing to Donald Trump.

Current Statewide Elected Officials

Lieutenant Governor Carlos Lopez-Cantera

Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater

Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam

Former Florida Officials

Former Lieutenant Governor Bobby Brantley

Former Chief Financial Officer Tom Gallagher

Former Attorney General Bill McCollum

Former Secretary of State Sandy Mortham

Former Florida House Speakers

Dean Cannon

Larry Cretul

Allan Bense

Johnnie Byrd

Tom Feeney

Members of the Florida Legislature (House & Senate)

House Speaker Steve Crisafulli

House Speaker-designate Richard Corcoran

House Majority Leader Dana Young

Central Florida Region

Sen. Thad Altman

Sen. Denise Grimsley

Sen. David Simmons

Sen. Kelli Stargel

Rep. Dennis Baxley

Rep. Jason Brodeur

Rep. Colleen Burton

Rep. Robert "Bob” Cortes

Rep. Fred Costello

Rep. Eric Eisnaugle

Rep. Mike La Rosa

Rep. Mike Miller

Rep. Edwin Cary Pigman

Rep. Scott Plakon

Rep. René "Coach" Plasencia

Rep. Charlie Stone

Rep. Jennifer Sullivan

Rep. John Wood

Rep. Ritch Workman

North Florida Region

Sen. Aaron Bean

Sen. Travis Hutson

Rep. Travis Cummings

Rep. Charles McBurney

Rep. Keith Perry

Rep. Elizabeth Porter

Rep. Lake Ray

Rep. Cyndi Stevenson


Palm Beach/Treasure Coast Region

Rep. Bill Hager

Rep. Gayle Harrell

Rep. MaryLynn Magar

Rep. Debbie Mayfield

Rep. Patrick Rooney

Panhandle Region

Rep. Doug Broxson

Rep. Brad Drake

Rep. Clay Ingram

South Florida Region

Sen. Miguel Diaz de la Portilla

Sen. Anitere Flores

Sen. Rene Garcia

Rep. Frank Artiles

Rep. Bryan Avila

Rep. Michael Bileca

Rep. Jose Felix Diaz

Rep. Manny Diaz, Jr.

Rep. Erik Fresen

Rep. George Moraitis

Rep. Jeanette Nunez

Rep. Jose Oliva

Rep. Holly Raschein

Tampa Bay/Sarasota Region

Sen. Jeff Brandes

Sen. Nancy Detert

Sen. Jack Latvala

Sen. Tom Lee

Rep. Jim Boyd

Rep. Daniel Burgess Jr.

Rep. Julio González

Rep. Jamie Grant

Rep. Shawn Harrison

Rep. Chris Latvala

Rep. Ray Pilon

Rep. Jake Raburn

Rep. Dan Raulerson

Rep. Ray Rodrigues

Rep. Jimmie T. Smith

Rep. Ross Spano

Rep. Chris Sprowls

Southwest Florida Region

Sen. Garrett Richter

Rep. Matt Caldwell

Rep. Dane Eagle

Rep. Heather Fitzenhagen

Rep. Ken Roberson

[Last modified: Friday, February 26, 2016 4:46pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours