Make us your home page

The Buzz

From the staff of the Tampa Bay Times

What the what? Alan Grayson votes w Club for Growth more than any Florida Democrat



It didn't surprise us to see in the Club for Growth's latest Congressional "scorecard" that U.S. Senate candidate and U.S. Rep. Ron Desantis, R-Ponte Vedra Beach, came out on top among Florida's U.S. House members. He's one of the House's most hardline conservatives, a government shutdown Republican, endorsed by the Club for Growth.

The Club ranked DeSantis fourth among members members, as he voted as the Club for Growth wanted 99 percent of the time in 2015 and 96 percent of the time over his tenure in the U.S. House -- compared to fellow Senate candidate David Jolly, R-Indian Shores, who ranked 207th, voting with the Club for Growth on key issues 46 percent of the time last year, and 40 percent over his career. 

What did surprise us was proud and loud liberal Alan Grayson, D-Orlando, voting with a group reviled by Democrats more than any other Democrat in Florida's delegation, including U.S. Senate rival Patrick Murphy. The Club ranked Grayson 250th in the House, giving him an 11 percent score in 2015 and 12 percent lifetime score. Murphy ranked 281st, and had a 3 percent 2015 score and 11 percent lifetime.

What gives? Well, these scorecards, based on select votes, are  pretty flawed in measuring a members' ideology. In this case, Grayson was the only Democrat who voted against reauthorizing the Export-Import Bank, which the Club for Growth views a little more than a vehicle for corporate welfare. DeSantis and Grayson were on the same page on that issue - against Ex-Im - as were Murphy, Jolly, every other Democrat and most Republicans - for ExIm.

A side note here: As is the case with most of these interest group scorecards, Florida's three Cuban-American House members - Republicans Mario Diaz-Balart, Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, and Carlos Curbelo, scored the lowest among Florida's Republicans. Historically, Miami-Dade's Republican House members have been considerably less skeptical about government safety net programs than their peers. Only thee Republicans declined to sign Newt Gingrich's Contact with America in 1994 -- Lincoln Diaz-Balart, Ros-Lehtinen, and Illinois Rep. Ray LaHoood, who later became President Obama's secretary of transportation.

Here's the full scorecard for Florida's delegation:

NAME                             RANK                        SCORE                       LIFETIME

Ron DeSantis                    4                                99%                               95%

Jeff Miller                            17                                95%                               87%

Ted Yoho                            18                                95%                               80%

Curt Clawson                     34                               91%                               95%

Bill Posey                             57                               87%                               85%

Thomas Rooney                 99                               76%                               71%   

Dennis Ross                       105                              75%                               79%

Gus Bilirakis                        122                              71%                               65%

Richard Nugent                   122                              71%                               70%

Daniel Webster                    142                             68%                               67%

John Mica                              168                             58%                               75%

Vern Buchanan                     195                             49%                                58%

David Jolly                              207                             46%                                40%

Mario Diaz-Balart                   211                             45%                                54%

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen             234                             35%                                47%

Carlos Curbelo                       244                             26%                                26%

Alan Grayson                           250                             11%                                12%

Gwen Graham                          256                             7%                                   7%

Patrick Murphy                           281                             3%                                  11%

Frederica Wilson                      297                             2%                                    9%

Debbie Wasserman Schultz  435                             0%                                    5%

Corrine Brown                           435                             0%                                    6%

Alcee Hastings                          435                              0%                                  7%

Lois Frankel                               435                              0%                                   8%

Ted Deutsch                               435                              0%                                   8%

Kathy Castor                                435                              0%                                   8%                                            


[Last modified: Thursday, April 28, 2016 2:13pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours