Make us your home page

2011 Florida Book Awards announced

Winners of the fifth annual Florida Book Awards were announced Tuesday, with honors going to books about aquifers and tarpon fishing, Seminoles and recent immigrants, and many more subjects.

The awards' goal is to recognize, honor and celebrate the best Florida literature published the previous year. Jurors can select up to five books in each of eight categories. The competition is coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries and co-sponsored by more than a dozen education, literacy and arts organizations. For information, go to

Children's literature

Gold: Jan Godown Annino, She Sang Promise: The Story of Betty Mae Jumper, Seminole Tribal Leader.

Silver: Mary GrandPre and Jack Prelutsky, Camille Saint-Saens's The Carnival of the Animals.

Bronze: Henry Cole, A Nest for Celeste: A Story About Art, Inspiration, and the Meaning of Home; Brad Meltzer, Heroes for My Son; Harvey E. Oyer III, The Last Egret: The Adventures of Charlie Pierce.

Popular fiction

Gold: William Culyer Hall, The Trouble With Panthers.

Silver: Randy Wayne White, Deep Shadow.

Bronze: Joyce Elson Moore, The Tapestry Shop; Charles Martin, The Mountain Between Us; James Grippando, Money to Burn.

Florida nonfiction

Gold: Margaret Ross Tolbert, AQUIFERious.

Silver: Julian M. Pleasants and Harry A. Kersey, Seminole Voices: Reflections on Their Changing Society.

Bronze: Lu Vickers, Cypress Gardens, America's Tropical Wonderland; Anna Lillios, Crossing the Creek; Randy Wayne White and Carlene Fredericka Brennen, Randy Wayne White's Ultimate Tarpon Book.

General fiction

Gold: Mark Mustian, The Gendarme.

Silver: Patricia Engel, Vida.

Bronze: T.M. Shine, Nothing Happens Until it Happens to You; Mary Jane Ryals, Cookie and Me.


Gold: Carol Frost, Honeycomb.

Silver: Lola Haskins, Still, the Mountain.

Bronze: Kelle Groom, Five Kingdoms.

Spanish language

Gold: Jose Alvarez, Los Alamos del Parque.

Visual arts

Gold: Jason Steuber, Laura K. Nemmers and Tracy E. Pfaff, editors, Samuel P. Harn Museum of Art at Twenty Years: The Collection Catalogue.

Silver: Margaret Ross Tolbert, AQUIFERious.

Young adult

Gold: Christina Diaz Gonzalez, The Red Umbrella.

2011 Florida Book Awards announced 03/02/11 [Last modified: Wednesday, March 2, 2011 1:14am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours