Make us your home page

And the 2012 Florida Book Awards winners are . . .

Congratulations to the winners of the 2012 Florida Book Awards.

Coordinated by the Florida State University Libraries and co-sponsored by a number of literary and educational organizations around the state, the awards recognize the best Florida literature published in the previous year in eight categories.

This year's winners include former Tampa Bay Times associate editor Martin Dyckman, Saint Leo College instructor Gianna Russo, former University of Florida journalism professor William McKeen and former Sen. Bob Graham.

Gold medal winners will be honored in March at the historic and cultural awards ceremony in Tallahassee, sponsored by the state's Division of Cultural Affairs. All award winners will be acknowledged at a luncheon that day at the Florida Governor's Mansion, hosted by the first lady. They will also be honored at the Florida Library Association's conference banquet in Orlando, and winners and their books will be featured in the summer issue of the Florida Humanities Council's FORUM magazine.

Children's literature: Margaret Cardillo and Julia Denos, Just Being Audrey, gold; Marianne Berkes, Over in Australia: Amazing Animals Down Under, silver; Angela DiTerlizzi, Say What?, bronze.

Florida nonfiction: William McKeen, Mile Marker Zero, gold; Virginia Lynn Moylan, Zora Neale Hurston's Final Decade, silver; Martin A. Dyckman, Reubin O'D. Askew and the Golden Age of Florida Politics, bronze.

General fiction: Lynne Barrett, Magpies, gold; Elizabeth Stuckey-French, The Revenge of the Radioactive Lady, silver; Caren Umbarger, Coming To: A Midwestern Tale, bronze.

Poetry: Stephen Kampa, Cracks in the Invisible, gold; David Kirby, Talking About Movies With Jesus, silver; Gianna Russo, MoonFlower, bronze.

Popular fiction: Ward Larsen, Fly by Night, gold; David Hagberg, ABYSS, silver; Sen. Bob Graham, Keys to the Kingdom, bronze.

Visual arts: Jerald T. Milanich and Nina J. Root, Hidden Seminoles: Julian Dimock's Historic Florida Photographs, gold.

Spanish language: No awards were given this year.

Young adult: Ryan G. Van Cleave, Unlocked, gold; Jessica Martinez, Virtuosity, silver; Alex Flinn, Cloaked, bronze.

For information on the Florida Book Awards, go to For FORUM magazine, go to

And the 2012 Florida Book Awards winners are . . . 02/18/12 [Last modified: Saturday, February 18, 2012 3:30am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours