Partly Cloudy78° WeatherPartly Cloudy78° Weather

Notable: plenty of poetry

Notable

Plenty of poetry

April is National Poetry Month, and here are three new collections worth celebrating.

The Best of the Best American Poetry: 25th Anniversary Edition (Scribner Poetry), edited by Robert Pinsky and David Lehman, collects 100 splendid works by American poets from a quarter-century of the Best American Poetry series.

New Collected Poems (Counterpoint) by Wendell Berry, the Kentucky writer who is one of our great poets of place and an American philosopher in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau, brings together more than 200 of the poems Booklist called the "radiant heart of his prophetic art."

Poems to Learn by Heart (Disney Hyperion), edited by Caroline Kennedy, is a book for children full of poems by notable writers, from biblical times to the present, arranged by themes like family, school and nature, and graced with charming illustrations by Jon J. Muth.

Colette Bancroft, Times book editor

Notable: plenty of poetry 04/06/13 [Last modified: Friday, April 5, 2013 7:05pm]

© 2014 Tampa Bay Times

    

Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

Loading...