Make us your home page

St. Petersburg Times writer among Florida book award winners

Authors from the Tampa Bay area made a strong showing in the third annual Florida Book Awards, which were announced Tuesday.

Times Real Florida columnist Jeff Klinkenberg won a bronze medal in the Florida nonfiction category for his collection of essays, Pilgrim in the Land of Alligators.

"I'm happy to have my storytelling recognized," Klinkenberg said. "There was lots of good competition this year."

The awards honor the best in Florida literature of the past year in eight categories. They are coordinated by Florida State University's American and Florida studies program and co-sponsored by a dozen literacy and writers' organizations, which nominate the jurors who select the winners.

All medalists will be honored at a banquet hosted by the Florida Library Association at its annual conference in May.

In addition to Klinkenberg, other local winners are:

General fiction: Tony D'Souza (The Konkans), Sarasota, silver medal; Debra Dean (Confessions of a Falling Woman), Tampa, bronze.

Poetry: Helen Pruitt Wallace (Shimming the Glass House), St. Petersburg, bronze.

Genre fiction: Lisa Unger (Black Out), Clearwater, silver; James Swain (The Night Stalker), Odessa, bronze.

Book design: Emmett H.L. Snellings Jr. (Seminole Views), Sarasota, gold.

For a complete list of Florida Book Award winners, go to

St. Petersburg Times writer among Florida book award winners 03/03/09 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 3, 2009 10:45pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours