Mostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECASTMostly Cloudy79° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram
1099323 2999-04-26 00:00:00.0 UTC 2999-04-25T20:00:00.000-04:00 2010-06-02 08:30:00.0 UTC 2010-06-02T04:30:00.000-04:00 sarasota-music-festival-begins-46th-season Published 2010-06-02 02:02:03.0 UTC 2010-06-01T22:02:03.000-04:00 features/music DTI 63175697 The Sarasota Music Festival opens its 46th season this week. Pianist Susan Starr is featured in a pair of concerts. Today, she plays Chopin's Nocturne in D and the Scherzo No. 1 in the Artist Showcase concert at Holley Hall, and then on Saturday, she is the soloist in the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Sarasota Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Silverstein at the Sarasota Opera House. The festival runs through June 19 and has concerts on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Holley Hall and the opera house. Here are a few highlights: • Violinist Martin Chalifour, violist Barbara Westphal and cellist Timothy Eddy play Dohnányi's Serenade in C on Friday. • Larry Rachleff conducts Stravinsky's Pulcinella on June 12. • Pianist Claude Frank plays Mozart and Schubert on June 17. • Festival artistic director Robert Levin is the piano soloist in Beethoven's Emperor Concerto June 19. For a complete schedule, see sarasotamusicfestival.org. $20-$50. (941) 953-3434. John Fleming, Times performing arts critic By John Fleming, Times Performing Arts Critic music,Features Sarasota Music Festival begins 46th season JFLEMINGN WEK Weekend-Fullrun Piano is forte of festival 15 WkSarasotafest060310 Piano is forte of festival 2010-06-03 04:00:00.0 UTC 2010-06-03T00:00:00.000-04:00 false templatedata/tampabaytimes/StaffArticle/data/2010/06/02/63175697-sarasota-music-festival-begins-46th-season StaffArticle The Sarasota Music Festival opens its 46th season this week. Pianist Susan Starr is featured in a pair of concerts. Today, she plays Chopin's Nocturne in D and the Scherzo No. 1 in the Artist Showcase concert at Holley Hall, and then on Saturday, she is the soloist in the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Sarasota Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Silverstein at the Sarasota Opera House. The festival runs through June 19 and has concerts on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Holley Hall and the opera house. Here are a few highlights:music,Featuresmusic,Features<span style="display:none;" class="author vcard"><span class="fn">JOHN FLEMING</span></span><span style="display:none;" class="source-org vcard"><span class="org fn">Tampa Bay Times</span></span><a rel="item-license" href="/universal/user_agreement.shtml">&#169; 2016 Tampa Bay Times</a><br /><br />Times Performing Arts Critic<p>The Sarasota Music Festival opens its 46th season this week. Pianist Susan Starr is featured in a pair of concerts. Today, she plays Chopin's Nocturne in D and the Scherzo No. 1 in the Artist Showcase concert at Holley Hall, and then on Saturday, she is the soloist in the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Sarasota Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Silverstein at the Sarasota Opera House. The festival runs through June 19 and has concerts on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Holley Hall and the opera house. Here are a few highlights:</p> <p>• Violinist Martin Chalifour, violist Barbara Westphal and cellist Timothy Eddy play Dohn&aacute;nyi's <i>Serenade in C</i> on Friday.</p> <p>• Larry Rachleff conducts Stravinsky's <i>Pulcinella</i> on June 12.</p> <p>• Pianist Claude Frank plays Mozart and Schubert on June 17.</p> <p>• Festival artistic director Robert Levin is the piano soloist in Beethoven's <i>Emperor Concerto</i> June 19.</p> <p>For a complete schedule, see sarasotamusicfestival.org. $20-$50. (941) 953-3434.</p> <p><i>John Fleming, </i> <i>Times performing arts critic</i></p>trueruntime2016-08-30 05:54:10