11 locals named to SSAC first and second teams



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Mon. November 22, 2010 | Bryan Burns

Eleven area football players were selected to the Sunshine State Athletic Conference first and second teams.

From Carrollwood Day School, WR Dillon Floyd, RB Robert Davis, DL Mak Djulbegovic and LB Markeith Kilgo were all picked for the SSAC first team.  Bishop McLaughlin RB Giovanni Perone and DB Mitch Ritter were also first team selections.

Making the SSAC second team were OL Shane Mendoza, K Tiger Williams and DL Isaac Meyers from Bishop McLaughlin. OL Jarrod Smith and LB Deuce Gruden from Carrollwood Day School were second team selections as well. Gruden was a double selection, earning second team status as a linebacker and a utility player.

Here is the complete list of first and second team picks:

First team: OL Ben Blach, Merritt Island Christian; OL Goreal White, First Academy; OL Dino Hatem, Landmark Christian; OL Cody Brodfuhrer, Master's Academy; OL Justin King, St. John Lutheran; OL Chris Flaig, St. Edward's; WR Zach Rose, All Saints' Academy; WR Dillon Floyd, Carrollwood Day; TE Jalen Lewis, Foundation Academy; QB Ryan Brooker, All Saints' Academy; RB Robert Davis, Carrollwood Day; RB Giovanni Perone, Bishop McLaughlin; K Dillon Benson, St. Edward's; P Scotty Brazell, Foundation Academy; DL Lonnie Scott, St. Edward's; DL John Klein, St. John Lutheran; DL B.J. Manning, Landmark Christian; DL Mak Djulbegovic, Carrollwood Day; LB Markeith Kilgo, Carrollwood Day; LB Jamari Williams, St. Edward's; LB Winston Jalloh, St. John Lutheran; LB Caleb Pautz, Landmark Christian; DB Mitch Ritter, Bishop McLaughlin; DB J.D. McGee, St. Edward's; DB Calib Alexander, St. John Lutheran; UTIL Assad Shalhoub, St Edward's; UTIL Trey Poehlman, St. John Lutheran.

Second team: OL Chandler Maidlow, Seven Rivers Christian; OL Kelvin Ankoh, Foundation Academy; OL Jarrod Smith, Carrollwood Day; OL Shane Mendoza, Bishop McLaughlin; OL Dean Corbett, Landmark Christian; OL Codie Butler, St. John Lutheran; WR Josh Walker, Faith Baptist Christian; WR Tal Minks, Foundation Academy; TE Jack Santini, St. Edward's; QB Collier Proctor, St. Edward's; RB Calib Alexander, St. John Lutheran; RB John Iwaniec,  Seven Rivers Christian; K Tiger Williams, Bishop McLaughlin; P Andrew Gage, Seven Rivers Christian; DL Josh Twigg, Ocala Christian; DL Jack Santini, St. Edward's; DL Isaac Meyers, Bishop McLaughlin; DL Joel Nyembo, Faith Baptist Christian; LB Riley Thomas, Foundation Academy; LB Deuce Gruden, Carrollwood Day; LB Assad Shalhoub, St. Edward's; LB Alex Bergman, Master's Academy; DB Andrew Gage, Seven Rivers Christian; DB Trey Gaskin, Seven Rivers Christian; DB Nick Holmes, First Academy; UTIL Trey Gaskin, Seven Rivers Christian; UTIL Deuce Gruden, Carrollwood Day.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours