Baseball: Dunedin Spring Tournament all-tournament team



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Mon. March 31, 2014 | Rodney Page | Email

The Dunedin Spring Baseball Tournament ended with co-champions for the first time in its 45-year history.

Osceola and Clearwater Central Catholic were scheduled to play in the championship game Saturday night at Englebert Complex, but rain forced a cancellation.

The teams could not come up with a date in April to play, so both will share the title. The only open date Osceola had available was April 17, but there is a very good chance the Warriors will be playing the PCAC championship that night.

There were still enough games played to name an all-tourney team. Here are the coaches' selections:

MVP: Mike Kleinman, Osceola (8-for-9, two doubles, five RBI).

Top pitcher: Keith Weisenberg, Osceola (two-hit shutout vs. Dunedin in semifinal).

Top hitter: Brenden Overton, CCC (6-for-9, home run, five RBI).

Outfielders: Ray Hansen, Calvary Christian; Andrew Murphy, CCC; Nicholas Dohse, CCC; Tim Luth, Dunedin; Currie Gauvreau, Inspiration Academy; Kenny Brush, Pinellas Park; Joey Coca, Osceola.

Infielders: Brenden Overton, CCC; Derek Gibree, CCC; Trevor Jensen, Dunedin; Danny Contreras, Inspiration Academy; Jaret Helinger, Osceola; Ryan Griffith, Pinellas Park; Aaron Dickson, Tarpon Springs.

Pitchers: Joe Messina, CCC; Michael Paul, CCC; Daniel Broeseker, Calvary Christian; Aaron Turman, Dunedin; Payton Jenkins, Inspiration Academy; Keith Weisenberg, Osceola.

Catchers: Tommy Georgevich, Calvary Christian; Mike Kleinman, Osceola.

Utility: David Paul, CCC; Eric Sexton, Dunedin.

Players in post

Teams in post


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours