District cross country: Wiregrass refuses to relinquish top spots



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Thu. November 3, 2011 | Derek J. LaRiviere

BROOKSVILLE — Make that four district titles in row for the boys and girls at Wiregrass Ranch.

The Bulls came out ahead Thursday morning in the Class 3A, District 6 championship at McKethan Lake.

Wiregrass Ranch (39 points) won the boys title thanks in large part to the second-place individual finish of Samuel Hippely. The senior crossed the line in a personal-best 16 minutes, two seconds. Hippely’s previous PR was 16:05.

“This is the most competitive district we’ve been in,” Wiregrass Ranch coach Chris Loth said. “Sarasota gave us a great run, but (Hippely) was more aggressive than usual.”

The Bulls had the second, fourth, sixth, 13th and 14th placers in the 5-kilometer race. The top 13 individuals qualify for regionals along with the top three programs.

Individual district champion Travis Nichols (15:58) credited Hippely for pushing him throughout the course. The Land O’Lakes sophomore also set a personal best. The rest of the Gators qualified thanks to a third-place finish with 70 points.

“I had a great guy passing me with (Hippely),” Nichols said. “I wouldn’t have done it without him.”

Sunlake’s Kenneth Fessel (16:41) and Mitchell’s Nicholas Kostakis (16:42) were the only individuals to advance to regionals who will not be accompanied by their teams. The two crossed the line in ninth and 10th, respectively, for their second straight trip to the second round.

The Bulls also took the girls title easily with 35 points. Junior Nikita Shah was their highest finisher in second place (17:52).

Belleview’s Anne-Marie Blaney (17:39) won for the second straight season, improving on last season’s time of 18:33 by almost a full minute. Shah took third in 2010 (18:56).

“The last mile was the hardest mile of my life,” Shah said. “I’m exhausted. I thought I was going to pass out for that entire stretch.”

Mitchell (91) came in third to advance. The Mustangs had the seventh, 12th, 21st, 22nd and 29th-place competitors led by junior Claudia Cancello (20:00).

Springstead’s Tiana Newton (20:25) was the lone local to advance as an individual without her team. The Eagles are coming off a trip to state last season, but the fifth-place finish was not enough to get them through this time.

2A-9: Individuals from Anclote, Fivay, Wesley Chapel advance

Berkeley Prep won the boys district title at Al Lopez Park in Tampa. Anclote’s Argishti Gazari, Christopher Sorrick and Spencer Guerette, along with Fivay’s Kenneth Walker were individual qualifiers for regionals.

Academy of the Holy Names took the girls title, and Wesley Chapel’s Alyssa Turner qualified for the next round.

Class 3A, District 6 at McKethan Lake, Brooksville

Teams: Wiregrass Ranch 39, Sarasota 53, Land O’Lakes 70, Belleview 112, Sunlake 161, Mitchell 171, Lecanto 187, Springstead 190, Central 199

Individuals: Travis Nichols (LOL) 15:58, Samuel Hippely (WR) 16:02, Courtland Bernard (Sar) 16:13, Ermias Bireda (WR) 16:23, Tyler Stahl (LOL) 16:31, David Hill (WR) 16:35, Boston Fitzpatrick (Bel) 16:38, Zackery Summerall (Sar) 16:38, Kenneth Fessel (Sun) 16:41, Nicholas Kostakis (Mit) 16:42, David Hinds (Sar) 16:49, Jake Poore (LOL) 16:51, Tyler Mattera (WR) 17:00

Teams: Wiregrass Ranch 35, Belleview 73, Mitchell 91, Sarasota 102, Springstead 110, Lecanto 121, Land O’Lakes 140, Central 248, Sunlake 277, River Ridge 306

Individuals: Anne-Marie Blaney (Bel) 17:39, Nikita Shah (WR) 17:52, Catherine Blaney (Bel) 19:16, Elise Cedre (WR) 19:30, Chloe Benoist (Lec) 19:41, Chelsea Ginn-Davis (WR) 19:44, Claudia Cancello (Mit) 20:00, Megan DeWitt (Sar) 20:07, Berlin Waters (WR) 20:23, Tiana Newton (Spr) 20:25, Melody Yero (Bel) 20:29, Elania Cancello (Mit) 20:36, Shelby Hinds (Sar) 20:51

Class 2A, District 9 at Al Lopez Park, Tampa


Teams: Academy of the Holy Names 35, Berkeley Prep 50, Robinson 50, Tampa Catholic 113, Wesley Chapel 115

Individuals: Colleen Doherty (AHN) 19:43.80, Julia Deyoung (Rob) 20:08.71, Madison Hull (Rob) 20:50.74, Natalie Hahn (AHN) 21:15.93, Abby Walters (BP) 21:17.99, Caroline Brown (BP) 21:37.00, Alexandra Reichert (AHN) 21:44.07, Jaime Jurado (AHN) 21:45.81, Hilleary Gramling (BP) 21:48.71, Abigail Grant (TC) 21:49.32, Alyssa Turner (WC) 21:53.20, Madison Scanlan (Rob) 22:03.90, Aaliyah Gordon (Rob) 23:21.96


Teams: Berkeley Prep 32, Robinson 61, Jesuit 69, Anclote 82, Wesley Chapel 134, Fivay 145

Individuals: Alex Main (BP) 16:22.19, Brian Sharp (Rob) 16:26.56, Shaun Majumdar (BP) 16:33.76, Tim O’Loughlin (Jes) 16:34.85, Argishti Gazari (Anc) 17:14.46, Christopher Sorrick (Anc) 17:17.66, Maximilian Borland (BP) 17:18.58, James Dowdle (BP) 17:22.89, Spencer Guerette (Anc) 17:35.53, Fredrick Stanford (Rob) 17:40.46, Hunter Revord (Jes) 17:42.86, Kenneth Walker (Fiv) 17:45.79, John Hill III (BP) 17:50.98


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours