Dwayne Mobley, Bill Combs among Hernando hall of fame inductees



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Thu. August 16, 2012 | Matt Baker | Email

Former Hernando star and current Leopards football coach Dwayne Mobley will be among eight athletes inducted into the school’s sports hall of fame this year, the school announced Thursday afternoon.

The other inductees are: Paul Spangler, Eddie Looper, Kelly Lagedrost, J.P. Inmon, Lorenzo Hamilton, Eddie McIntyre and Bill Combs.

Mobley was one of the top players in North Suncoast history. The dominant rusher led the state with 36 touchdowns in 1991 while setting school records in rushing yards (4,041) and earning honors as the Times’ All-Suncoast offensive player of the year. He won a national championship at Florida and took over as the Leopards’ football coach in the summer.

Spangler won a state title in the 3,200 meters in 1992 before competing for the University of Alabama. Looper was the Times’ male athlete of the year in 1986 and played in the St. Louis Cardinals’ farm system.

Lagedrost helped Hernando win a girls golf state title in 1997 and became an All-American at Florida. Inmon played quarterback and running back for the Leopards who became North Carolina Central’s all-time leading rusher and was drafted by the Rams.

Hamilton has been a fixture of the county’s education system and a coach for decades, while McIntyre got into coaching after playing for the school’s undefeated football teams in 1938-39. Combs is a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame who stepped down in March after 34 years as the school’s head coach.

The inductees will be honored with a banquet on Oct. 11 at the school’s gym. Tickets are $20 and can be purchased through the school. The class will also be acknowledged during halftime of Hernando’s game against Sunlake on Oct. 12.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours