Region wrestling: Brandon wins another title



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Sat. February 8, 2014 | Steve Lee

BRANDON — This is the time of the season when Brandon peaks, and as expected the state’s winningest program won its 25th straight region title Saturday at the Class 2A, Region 2 meet.

The Eagles turn their sights on a 25th state title and 14th in a row.

“We are wrestling tough right now, not only physically but mentally,” coach Russ Cozart said. “At this point of the season it’s all about them. They’ve got dreams, and they want to be state champions.”

Brandon sent 10 wrestlers to finals and won nine of those matches to total 300 points. Runnerup Jesuit (164 .5) had five finalists and two winners. Springstead, which had one champion among five finalists, was third with 145 points.

Jesuit was coming off its third straight district title while Springstead has won a North Suncoast record-tying 10 consecutive district championships.

Brandon’s winners included: Frank Bruno (106 pounds), Kyle Norstrem (113), James Flint (126), Dylan Lucas (132), Devan Berrian (138), Troy Joyce (145), Dakota Greene (160), Dontae McGee (170) and Robert Enmon (220). Bruno (46-0), Norstrem (65-0), Flint (28-0), Lucas (62-0) and McGee (53-0) remain unbeaten this season.

Brandon’s Ty Lucas (120) also wrestled in a final, but was pinned in 2:57 by Springstead’s Mike McDonald, who is 39-0. The four other finalists for Springstead were Andrew Smith (132), Jordan Rivera (145), Vincent Buonanno (160) and Corey Humphrey (195).

Jesuit’s winners were Austin Underwood (285), who is undefeated at 32-0 after pinning New Smyrna Beach’s Brandon Martin in 2:53, and Nick Mosco (195), who defeated Springstead’s Humphrey 7-1. Also making the finals for Jesuit were Jarrett Roop (106), Adam Lewis (138) and Brian Buser (152).

In a rematch from the Ippolito tournament, Robinson’s Luis Peguero defeated Harmony’s Sawyer Root 3-1 at 182. Peguero (44-0) needed overtime to best Root the last time they met.

3A-2: Riverview finished seventh with 68.5 points as host Kissimmee Osceola took the title. The Sharks’ Connor Barrick (195) took second while Kizhan Clarke (120) was fourth. Durant was 10th with 46 points. The Cougars are sending 120-pounder Austin Haley to state after he lost the final in overtime. Sickles’ Andrew Martin was runnerup at 152. Alonso finished 14th with 29 points and qualified heavyweight Nathan Brantley.

A-3: Five Tampa Prep wrestlers qualified for state at Berkeley Prep. The Terps finished fourth while getting titles from Anthony Artalona (120), Donoven Hough (126) and Leo Tarantino (138). Aaron Mills (106) lost 4-3 to Tampa Bay HEAT’s Cullen Telfer in the final. Landon Carter (132) finished fourth. The HEAT, a team of homeschoolers, also qualified Noah Ridley, who finished third at 113. Berkeley Prep’s Brady Grundy qualified for his second straight state tournament by finishing fourth at 195. Bradley Bolesta of Citrus Park Christian took second at 160. Cape Coral Mariner won with 138.5 points.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours