Keough named 3A Player of the Year; Kroll, Tunsil receive coaching honors



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Mon. April 4, 2011 | Eduardo A. Encina

Tampa Catholic senior guard Meghan Keough is one of six finalists for the Florida Dairy Farmers Miss Basketball Award, given annually to the top player in the state.

Keough, who guided the Crusaders to their second straight state title, was named the Class 3A Player of the Year on Monday. The winner of the Miss Basketball Award will come from the players of the year from six state qualifications.

Also, Crusaders coach Nancy Kroll was named the Class 3A coach of the year, making her a finalist for the Dairy Farmers' state coach of the year award.

Tampa Catholic (28-4) finished the season with a 25-game win streak with a state final victory over North Broward Prep at the Lakeland Center. Keough scored a game-high 30 points and averaged 26.5 points in two state tournament games. On the season, Keough, a UCF recruit, averaged 21.2 points, 3.3 assists, 4.5 rebounds and 3.2 steals.

Kroll steadied a Crusaders team that started the season 3-4 after losing two 1,000-point scorers to graduation.

Gulf's Nicole Adams was also named the Class 4A Player of the Year. In a slight surprise, Winter Haven's Erica Lanier won the Class 5A Player of the Year award over Sickles' Amber Henson, who was the Gatorade Florida Player of the Year and just recently played in the McDonald's All-American Game in Chicago.

Lakewood coach Necole Tunsil, who guided the Spartans to their first state crown since 1989 when she was a player, was also named the Class 4A Coach of the Year. Lakewood went 26-4 and beat Pensacola 53-44 in the state final.

Florida Miss Basketball Finalists
Class 6A Player of the Year: Morgan Jones, Lake Mary, senior, guard/forward
Class 5A Player of the Year: Erica Lanier, Winter Haven, senior, guard
Class 4A Player of the Year: Nicole Adams, Gulf, senior, guard
Class 3A Player of the Year: Meghan Keough, Tampa Catholic, senior, guard
Class 2A Player of the Year: Cartaesha Macklin, Lafayette, senior, guard
Class 1A Player of the Year: Danielle McCray, Lake Worth Trinity Christian

Florida Girls Basketball Coach of the Year Finalists
Class 6A Coach of the Year: Anthony Jones, Orlando Dr. Phillips, 3rd year
Class 5A Coach of the Year: Marcia Pinder, Dillard, 34th year
Class 4A Coach of the Year: Necole Tunsil, St. Petersburg Lakewood, 7th year 
Class 3A Coach of the Year: Nancy Kroll, Tampa Catholic, 5th year
Class 2A Coach of the Year: Mitch Woods, Community School of Naples, 7th year
Class 1A Coach of the Year: Carlos Adamson, Hollywood Christian, 2nd year

-- EDUARDO A. ENCINA (eencina@sptimes.com)


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours