Tim Sims, Dee Brown among Hernando's hall of fame inductees



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Fri. August 9, 2013 | Matt Baker | Email

Hernando will induct eight individuals into its athletics hall of fame this fall, the school announced Friday afternoon. They are:

Phillip Jones (basketball), who set the school’s single-game scoring record of 45 points;

Earl Deen (football/track), who won a state title in the 100 meters and holds the school record with a 99-yard punt return for a touchdown in 1968;

Grover Ellis (football), a former quarterback in the mid-60s;

Tim Sims (baseball), a former Alabama infielder who became head coach and has turned the Leopards into the North Suncoast’s top baseball program;

Mike Walker (baseball), a right-hander who was a second-round pick in 1986 and spent parts of five seasons in the major leagues with the Indians, Cubs and Tigers;

Dee Brown (football/baseball), the son of legend Jerome Brown and a former UCF two-sport athlete and minor leaguer;

Chrissy (Hartley) DuShane (softball), the state’s Class 3A softball player of the year as a softball pitcher in 1999;

Monica (Hysell)  Lovett (softball/basketball), a former softball star in the 1980s who graduated as one of the best basketball players in North Suncoast history.

The induction banquet will be at 6 p.m. Oct. 17 at the school’s gym. The Leopards will also honor the inductees at halftime of the Hernando-Pasco football game the next day. Tickets for the banquet are $25.

Teams in post


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours