Times' all-Hillsborough County wrestling



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Sat. March 19, 2011 | Derek J. LaRiviere

Times' all-Hillsborough County wrestling

Co-wrestlers of the Year
Rossi Bruno, Jr., Brandon (63-2)

Why we picked him: Bruno has more achievements on the mat than some entire programs, and he still has one season left. Struggling with the flu in the region finals, he was upset by Palm Harbor University’s Aaron Hartman in the 130-pound class for only the third loss of his high school career. A week later, he dominated Hartman in the Class 3A state finals for a 5-1 victory and his fourth gold medal.  ¶  Most impressive accomplishment: Starting with his first win as an eighth-grader at Tampa Bay Christian, Bruno is accustomed to success. Four state titles is a Florida High School Athletic Association record, shared with 11 other wrestlers. Bruno and teammate Clark Glass, however, return next season with a chance for a fifth title. ¶  Did you know? Bruno is a multiple All-American and was the national champion at the 2007 USA Wrestling Cadets Folkstyle Championships at Cedar Falls, Iowa; the 2006 Junior Olympics Championships in Oklahoma City; and the 2006 Asics Dixie Nationals in Duluth, Ga.

Clark Glass, Jr., Brandon (65-1)
Why we picked him: Glass bumped up to the 152-pound class this season and took his intensity to a new level.  He pinned George Jenkins’ Jacob Moskowitz in 3:46 for his fourth state title.  ¶  Most impressive accomplishment:  Glass  has 263 wins since his first year wrestling as a seventh-grader at Tampa Bay Christian, the year before Bruno (227) started competing there as well.  ¶  Did you know?  Glass has been named to many All-America lists while winning national titles at the 2007 Dixie Nationals in Atlanta ; the 2006 USA Wrestling Greco-Roman Nationals in Green Bay, Wis.; the 2006 Liberty Nationals in Kansas City, Mo.; and the 21st annual Brute Bowl Classic in Dallas. He also won the Most Outstanding Wrestling award at the 2006 Big Horn Asics Nationals in Loveland, Colo.

First team
103: Dylan Lucas, 8th, Tampa Bay Christian, 37-2. Just like James Flint did last year for the Rams, Lucas earned gold at 103 and will move on to Brandon .
112: James Flint, Fr., Brandon, 50-5.  With a state title in middle school and one in his first season as an Eagle, this lightweight has a promising future.
119: Damen Patisaul, Jr., Strawberry Crest, 46-8. Only county wrestler to place in Lakeland in his weight class, coming in sixth in Class A after being dropped from the top bracket by eventual champion Fox Baldwin of Lake Highland Prep.
125: Kevin Norstrem, So., Brandon, 63-0. With an 11-1 major decision in the championship for his third title, Norstrem left no doubt as to his dominance this season.  
130: Eric Franklin, Jr., Spoto, 44-9. With only one loss at state — to Gulf’s Anthony Ayers, who defended his title — Franklin is one to watch next year.  
135: Tyler Liberatore, Sr., Brandon, 50-0. Two-time state champion ended his prep career  with two falls and two major decisions  at Lakeland.
140: Brice  Jones, Jr., Brandon, 48-17. Earned a fifth-place finish in his first state trip as part of the Eagles’ lineup.  
145: Travis Berridge, So., Brandon, 57-10. Berridge was involved in possibly the match of the state tournament with Osceola Kissimmee’s Pete Baldwin in the final, falling on a 6-3 decision .
152: Anthony Cimino, Sr., Jesuit, 37-7. Consistently one of the Tigers’ better competitors; in his final season, shined on his way to state bronze.
160: Wally Figaro, Sr., Brandon, 64-2. A 12-5 decision over Douglas’ Vinny Jiovenneta finally  landed Figaro a state title after a fourth-place finish and two thirds in previous years.  
171: Kyle Koziel, Jr., Brandon, 62-1. Avenging his 2010 finals loss, Koziel  won a convincing 9-2 decision over Miami Palmetto’s Justin Cook.
189: Mike Ettore, Sr., Brandon, 65-2. Won a state title as a freshman in Class 2A, but 3A wasn’t as kind. Last season, he lost in the finals and this season placed third in Lakeland .
215: Ben Richards, Jr., Hillsborough, 40-6. Second-highest placing underclassman in his weight class; fifth-place finish was his first time placing at state.
285: Joe Dudley, Sr., Brandon, 46-21. In his lone season as starting heavyweight, county champion helped the Eagles send 14 to state .

Second team
103: Abe Fernandez, Sr., Strawberry Crest, 42-6
112: Chase Singletary, 6th, Tampa Bay Chr., 37-10
119: Victor Fugate, So., Brandon, 55-12
125: Christian Dominguez, Jr., Jesuit, 37-9
130: Dakota Greene, 8th, Tampa Bay Chr., 34-10
135: Eric Bach, Jr., Tampa Prep, 40-9
140: Josh Fulford, Sr., Steinbrenner, 55-6
145: Kaylab Phillips, Jr., Lennard, 26-3
152: Tyler Dutrieux, Jr., Armwood 35-15
160: Chris Padilla, Sr., Robinson, 48-9
171: Gilbert Stokes, Sr., Durant, 40-13
189: Kenny Rach, Sr., Bloomingdale, 49-14
215: Lorenzo Martinez, Sr., Brandon, 49-10
285: Greg Tomlin, Jr., Berkeley Prep, 16-11

Honorable mention
Alonso: Lucas Fitzer (125); Bloomingdale: Skip Reagor (135); Brandon: Devan Berrian (103); Chamberlain:  Sha’Von Flowers (103), Audrick Barr (125), Roger Phillips (130), Brandon Dorney (171); Durant: Chase Haley (119), Keith Watford (160); East Bay: Nissan Anderson (145); Freedom: Trey Lawson (160), Andrew Ford (189); Jesuit: Wyatt Roop (112), Kyle Walker (160); King: Jacob Wasserman (103); Lennard: Ernest Antoine (103), Calvin Rabney (130); Plant City: William Joyce (112), Matt Benton (130); Robinson: Wilfredo Sierra (112); Spoto: James Aikman (135); Steinbrenner: Austin Hanold (103), Tyler Reed (171), Ryon Keith (189); Strawberry Crest: Kris O’Brien (189)

Coach of the Year
Russ Cozart, Brandon
In winning the program’s 22nd state title, Cozart continued to cement his reputation as a legend in the sport. All 14 of his varsity wrestlers qualified for state, giving the team a leg up as the Eagles won their 11th straight crown. Cozart has  been leading Brandon for 31 years and shows no signs of slowing down.  

Teams in post


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours