Times' all-North Suncoast boys soccer



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Wed. March 10, 2010 | Izzy Gould | Email

Player of the Year
MF Max Rockwell, Sr., Mitchell

Why we picked him: The captain of the Class 4A state champion was a key influence in the midfield for a group comprised mostly of seniors.

Most impressive accomplishment: Yes, he scored four goals and notched 19 assists. Ask Rockwell and he’ll tell you his most impressive accomplishment was simply being part of Pasco County’s first boys soccer state championship team. “Being honored as the captain of that team was an honor,” he said.

Did you know? Rockwell is color blind. “In kindergarten, my teacher talked to my parents because my coloring abilities were off. I got tested and sure enough, I was color blind.” In games, referees or opponents sometimes wear similar colors, forcing Rockwell to focus as not to pass to the wrong person. He said he’s picked up pretty well on shades and has little trouble matching clothes, though from time to time he’ll check with his parents before heading to school.

Future plans: Rockwell is headed to Southern Methodist where he has a soccer scholarship. “I had a lot of other interest from other schools I thought SMU was the best fit, a great school academically and on campus it felt like the right school for me,” he said.

First team
F David Vasquez, Sr., Mitchell:
Led the state champions with 20 goals and 12 assists.
F Steven Esoff, Sr., Wiregrass Ranch: Plenty of production with 33 goals and 17 assists.
F Rafael Morales, Sr., Wesley Chapel: Led the Wildcats with 25 goals and seven assists.
F Omar Odulaja, Jr., Central: Hernando County’s leading scorer for second straight year with 24 goals and six assists.
MF Max Rockwell, Sr. Mitchell: Truly the centerpiece of Mitchell’s team with four goals and 19 assists.
MF Jason Leslie, Sr., Mitchell: A balanced player with 13 goals and 12 assists.
MF Justin Lyles, Jr., Land O’Lakes: One of the Gators’ top producers.
D Chris McVeigh, Sr., Mitchell: The 6-foot-plus defender was the anchor to Mitchell’s defense.
D Frank Villar, Sr., Land O’Lakes: Led the Gators in the back before a knee injury ended his season.
D Alejandro Motta, Sr., Mitchell: Another of Mitchell’s stellar defenders.
D Tim Falcon, Sr., Land O’Lakes: One of the best ball strikers in the area.
GK Josh Berres, Sr., Mitchell: If judged by one game, look no further than the state semifinal for an example of his skill.

Second team
F Tyler Best, Jr., Gulf
F Eric Garcia, Jr., Pasco
F Alex Wegener, Sr., Mitchell
F Andrew Garcia, So., Land O’Lakes
MF Jake Frahm, So., Land O’Lakes
MF Sean Maser, Sr., Mitchell
MF John Thompson, Jr., River Ridge
D Jon Siragusa, Sr., Land O’Lakes
D Robbie Wallace, Sr., Mitchell
D Brad Lach, Jr., River Ridge
D Brendan Ross, Jr., Mitchell
GK Kody Parker, Jr., Land O’Lakes

Honorable mention
Adrian Baset; Bishop McLaughlin: Joe Gulau, Matt Gulau; Central: Anthony Kaspars Christian Velasquez, T.J. Armstrong; Gulf: Petar Andjelic; Hernando: Kevin Herbert, Andres Pinzon; Hernando Christian: Matt Lehman; Hudson: Zach Wynn, Josh Frame, Wayne Ewing; Land O’Lakes: Zach Higgins; Nature Coast: Danny Colon, David MacLean, Lachlan Cameron; Pasco: Jose Flores, Nathan Tellez, Ricky Corona, Daniel Cano, Gilbert Tanguma; Ridgewood: Josh Gray, Sergio Velasquez, Devon Graziano; River Ridge: Sean Jones; Springstead: Terry Wald; Sunlake: Jordan Landry, Miguel Laliberte; Wesley Chapel: Zach Mine; Wiregrass Ranch: Andres Caesar, Logan Burstiner, Alex Maxson; Zephyrhills: Gunnar Chauncey

Coach of the Year
Oscar Ubillus, Mitchell

After years of navigating through Class 6A, Ubillus guided the Mustangs through 4A to the first boys state soccer title in Pasco County history. Ubillus, who played in the final four in the 1990s for River Ridge, was able to keep Mitchell calm and confident late in the playoffs. His coaching style paid off with the state’s top prize.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours