Times’ all-North Suncoast girls soccer



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Fri. March 14, 2014 | Mary Kenney

Times’ all-North Suncoast girls soccer

Player of the year: F Sabrina Wagner, Fr., Mitchell
Why we picked her:
Wagner was the most dangerous offensive threat on the North Suncoast’s top team. The Mustangs were unbeaten until the region final, where they lost in overtime to the eventual state champ. Wagner started the season strong, earning two of the Mustangs’ four goals against Fivay. She never let up from that first game, racking up a team-high 39 goals as well as 12 assists over the season. Wagner was a key piece of the Mustangs’ aggressive strategy, and — working closely with Amanda Hayes, last season’s POY — took Mitchell to its fifth consecutive playoff run.
Most impressive accomplishment: Mitchell could rely on Wagner’s steady presence on the field throughout the season. She scored at least two goals in all but two games. The Mustangs shut out Wiregrass Ranch in the district semifinal, and Wagner scored two of her team’s four goals against a team that had posted 10 shutouts.
Did you know? With soccer taking up nearly every weekend, Wagner has very little free time. When she does, she’s usually trying to find a way to get to the beach with her friends.  “Soccer and hanging out with friends — that’s my life right now,” she said with a laugh.
Future plans: Wagner has several years of high school left before she has to worry about college. For now, she’s focused on doing well in club soccer, though she’s emailed a few college recruiters and hopes to see them at games. Her dream schools are Florida State and Florida.  

Coach of the year
Karl Kukec, Mitchell.
Kukec reprises his role as coach of the year after another deep playoff run and dominant season over area teams. Kukec’s Mustangs went 24-1 and shut out 18 teams. In the region final, Mitchell fell 1-0 to Melbourne in overtime.

First team
F Dominique Cirnigliaro, Sr., Hudson:
The West Florida commit led the North Suncoast in scoring, earning 57 goals and 22 assists for Hudson (21-6-1).
F Victoria Cannata, So., Land O’Lakes: One of the Gators’ youngest players was also one of their most prolific, racking up a team-high 27 goals and adding 13 assists.
F Nicole Morolla, Sr., Springstead: Her 27 goals and 19 assists helped Springstead to a 13-5-2 season.
F Samantha Epifanio, Fr., Land O’Lakes: The freshman pulled off several key kicks to earn victories for the Gators, tallying 21 goals and seven assists.
MF Danielle Gottwik, Sr., Mitchell: The UConn commit is on the first team a second straight year after earning 10 goals and 12 assists.
MF Brooke Silvest, Sr., Land O’Lakes: Silvest is bound for Eckerd College after racking up 19 goals and 19 assists.
MF Balea Schumacher, Sr., Mitchell: The Nova Southeastern commit and Sunshine Athletic Conference Player of the Year had 10 goals for the North Suncoast’s top team.
MF Leah Neck, So., Fivay: It’s only her second varsity season, but Neck has a reputation as an aggressive scorer. She connected on at least one goal in each game to finish with 23.
D Gina Davis, Sr., Mitchell: The FAU commit was part of a staunch Mitchell defense that shut out 18 teams.
D Maci Galan, So., Land O’Lakes: The Gators lost only twice, and the sophomore’s flexibility on the field was part of the reason.
D Cassidy Place, Sr., Sunlake: The senior was one of the Seahawks’ most flexible players, earning a team-best 26 goals as well as being part of a defensive that had 11 shutouts.
GK Erica Disbrow, Sr., Mitchell: Opponents were able to score only five goals against Disbrow, who had 69 saves and 17 shutouts to lead the North Suncoast.

Second team
F Amanda Hayes, Jr., Mitchell
F Taylor Meek, Sr., Mitchell
F Darien Davis, Jr., River Ridge
F Noah Stokes, Fr., Mitchell
F Hailey LaLande, Sr., Nature Coast
MF Carly Hill, Sr., Sunlake
MF Ashton Brock, Jr., Pasco
MF Haleigh McDuff, Sr., Springstead
MF Casey Bruno, Sr., Mitchell
D Rosie Witherell, Sr., Nature Coast
D Hannah Erdmann, So., Wiregrass Ranch
D Antonia Lowden, Jr., Mitchell
GK Lauren Arrabito, Jr., Land O’Lakes

Honorable mention
Bishop McLaughlin: Shanon Teicher, Rickelle Vetzel; Central: Regina Sameri, Mackenzy Campbell; Fivay: Morgan Vidrine, Amber Mariano, Aubry Hall, Alex Christianson, Katy Hurst, Bianca Gallina; Gulf: Brianna Rossi, Abby Cohen, Brittney Pressler; Hernando: Nicole Sullivan, Summer Solovitch; Hudson: Brittany Wilkins, Cassidy Rux, Caroline DiMonda, Nicole Staley, Devyn Cabral, Brittany Cirnigliaro, Alexa Gernand ; Land O’Lakes: Lacy Nasello, Haley Eckel, Catherine Gray; Mitchell: Baylor Cherry; Nature Coast: Chelsea Reid, Lisa Soehngen, Sabrina Branch, Jayna Tyler; Pasco: Alexis Celedon; River Ridge: Adrienne Duke; Springstead: Erin Blackwell, Jenna Booth; Sunlake: Kim Devoe, Emily Higgins, Kailee Raberge, Landon Carter, Riley Morrison, Emma Hanyok; Wesley Chapel: Jade Torres; Wiregrass Ranch: Sareya Maxson, Vanessa Jordan, Amanda Cypriano, Lauren Luzzi, Maya Foley, Fetlework Blitch; Zephyrhills: Rachel Osborne

Correspondents Darek Sharp and Derek J. LaRiviere contributed to this report.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours