Times' all-Pinellas County boys soccer



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Wed. March 10, 2010 | Bryan Burns

Player of the year
F Ben Sweat, Sr., Palm Harbor University

Why we picked him: Sweat not only paced the Class 6A state finalist Hurricanes with 22 goals and 11 assists, but in the season’s most critical moments, the talented senior hoisted the ’Canes on his broad shoulders and buried opponents with his deadly left foot. He sunk Plant with his overtime strike in the region semifinals and did the same to Killian in the state semifinals. Sweat, who bulked up during the offseason, making it extremely difficult for opponents to dispossess him from the ball, displayed a full arsenal of offensive moves and proved he could score from anywhere on the field.

Most impressive accomplishment: Sweat’s winner against Killian in the state semifinals was probably the finest individual effort of the tournament. Starting at midfield, Sweat took on three defenders, dribbling back and forth as all three gave chase. At the edge of the box, Sweat cut back to his left and uncorked a rocket into goal that sent the Hurricanes to their second straight state final appearance.

Did you know? Sweat signed in February with USF and will play left back for the Bulls to take advantage of his dominant foot. He plans to major in sports medicine or sports management.

First team
F Charles Lynch, Jr., Seminole:
Injured early in the year but once back to full strength, the Warhawks were a much more dangerous side.
F Nick Patterson, Sr., East Lake: Florida Gulf Coast commit was the leading scorer for the district champ and region semifinalist Eagles.
M Brett Hummel, Jr., East Lake: Equally effective as a defender or in the attack, Hummel stood out in a crowded Eagles midfield.
M Jagger Martinez, Jr., Countryside: Offensive-minded center mid was the leading scorer for the district runnerup.
M P.J. McDonald, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Had 13 goals, assisted on five others and was a key cog in the Hurricanes’ return to the state final.
M Sean Rafferty, Sr., Seminole: Also saw time at left back and was steadiest player on the Warhawks’ Class 5A state final team.
M Shane Wixted, Sr., Seminole: Brilliant tactician who will play at USF next season led Warhawks with 22 goals, 11 assists.
D Zudhi Abdallah, Sr., Countryside: Powerful, hard-nosed player whose field awareness and understanding of the game are second to none.
D Javon Bostic, Sr., East Lake: Rarely beaten USF signee was the county’s most consistent defender all season.
D Bruno Sinibaldi, Sr., Seminole: Tireless worker with outstanding instincts in the air spear-headed the Warhawks’ back line
GK Josh Paul, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Had a number of incredible stops, none more so than his point-blank kick save in the state semifinals.

Second team
F Brian Tyler, Sr., Seminole
F Billy Vasquez, Sr., Pinellas Park
M Troy Cobb, Sr., Seminole
M Hamza Elotmani, Sr., Lakewood
M Andrew Hitt, So., Countryside
M Matt Kimball, Sr., East Lake
M Robert Sennabaum, So., Palm Harbor University
D Brent Merrick, Sr., East Lake
D Richie Parrey, Jr., Northeast
D Brandon Shaneyfelt, Jr., Palm Harbor University
GK Jason Richmond, Jr., East Lake

Honorable mention
Admiral Farragut:
Luie Bobelis, Pablo Ramirez, Matt Thompson; Clearwater: Jordan Beau, Jon King, Jacob Wylie; Clearwater Central Catholic: Kyle Curinga, Coleman Dean, Trevor Henry, Blake Myregaard, Tim Swinehart; Countryside: Derya Ekren, Danny George, Nikolai Hammer, Hunter Maricle, Max Seijo; Dunedin: Anthony Brenner, Andrew Hindman, Simon Wade; East Lake: Cameron Coughlin; Indian Rocks Christian: Edi Baba-Aliq, Brice Nardozzi, Cody Sitton, Kollin Woodbury; Lakewood: Dane Leavy, Max Thuriere, Prince Uchendu; Largo: Marcus Blanchard; Northeast: Kyle Apperson, Marino Pavicic, Josh Phillippi; Northside Christian: Logan Barnett, Jeremy Smith; Osceola: Peter Cundiff, Dominic Gianfrancesco; Palm Harbor University: Jesse Caron, Jeremy Paul, Ryan VanSchaick; Pinellas Park: Tyler Allen, Blake Andrews, Thomas Meyer; Seminole: James Marshall, Christian McHale; Shorecrest: Jake Crotts, Alistair Flynn, Rheese Wiltshire; St. Petersburg: Tony Liebel, Hunter Loyden, Robert Menke; St. Petersburg Catholic: Elliott Krueger; Tarpon Springs: Andres Delgado

Coach of the year
Rick Masi, Seminole

Masi, a 17-year veteran with Seminole, had the Warhawks peaking in the postseason with wins over East Lake, Sickles and Lincoln to reach the state final.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours