Times' all-Pinellas County girls and boys basketball teams



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Sat. March 31, 2012 | Times Staff

Gibbs' Gary SimonPalm Harbor University's Kristine Fuller


Player of the year: G Kristine Fuller, Sr., Palm Harbor University

Why we picked her: There was no way not to pick Fuller. She averaged 22.2 points per game, shot 77 percent from the free-throw line and averaged 7.9 rebounds as a senior. With Fuller leading the way, PHU won 22 games for the first time in school history. In the Florida Association of Basketball Coaches all-star tournament, Fuller was the leading scorer with 22 points. For her career, she had a school-record 1,745 points. “After watching so many kids play, when I first saw Kristine I knew she was going to be a player,’’ PHU coach Darian Dublin said. “I knew she was eventually going to take over this team. She hasn’t let me down.’’

Biggest accomplishment: There were a lot of firsts for Fuller and PHU this season. The Hurricanes surpassed 20 wins, won the PCAC north division and beat Lakewood for the first time. In that game, Fuller scored 29 points.

Did you know? Fuller is the first person in PHU basketball history to have her jersey retired. Her No. 22 jersey is framed and will hang in the gym.

What’s next: Fuller earned a scholarship to Brigham Young, and will enroll in summer classes and begin school in June.

First team
G Annie Artise, Sr., St. Petersburg Catholic: Scored 13 points per game and was a huge 3-point threat for region finalist Barons.

C Shineice Beamon, Sr., Lakewood: Beamon was a workhorse inside for the state semifinalist Spartans and will play at Florida A&M next season.

F Kasey Drayton, Jr., Lakewood: Averaged more than 18 points per game and was a rock during the Spartans’ playoff run.

G Meagan Thomas, So., Dixie Hollins: Averaged 24.9 points and scored 673 total. Her next closest teammate had 109 points.

G Jessica Logemann, Sr., Indian Rocks Christian: Had 1,713 points in her career; Suffered a knee injury just before playoffs.

Second team
G Alexis Ungro, Jr., Lakewood

F Tyra Bolden, Jr., Clearwater

G Qytiesha Middlebrooks, Sr., Boca Ciega

G Brittney Dunbar, Sr., St. Petersburg Catholic

F Destiny Brown, Jr., Boca Ciega

Honorable mention
Boca Ciega:
Jakera Allen, Olivia Hester; Canterbury: Emily Winesett; Calvary Christian: Caroline Andreassen; Clearwater: Aja Jenkins, Anna Egger, Javon McTier, Alex Alford; Countryside: Lexi Panico; Dunedin: Lisa Wallace; East Lake: Amber Jennings, Marlyce Meredith, Emily Dine; Gibbs: Chelsea Cooper, Bria Bostick; Indian Rocks Christian: Rachel Boyette, Tori Trador, Amber Frounfelter, Kristen Scholl; Keswick Christian: Megan Wagner; Lakewood: Maya Madry, Tianah Alvarado, Jacquette Green, Mimi Flowers; Largo: Charlotte Reneau, Brianna Kirkland; Northeast: Pauliina Ventoniemi, Aspen Hedges; Northside Christian: Haley Gossard, Heather Percival; Osceola: Monica Brimm; Palm Harbor University: Jamie Appelt, Megan Ingram, Chardonay Aldrich; Pinellas Park: Amanda Vilardi; St. Petersburg: Danielle Daniels, Deja Swinton, Jordan Berenbaum, Adesha Hobbs; St. Petersburg Catholic: Katie Gibbons, Michelle Halapio; Seminole: Kelsey Geraghty, Meghan Weaver; Shorecrest: Molly Manella; Tarpon Springs: Zoe Lekakis

Coach of the year
Necole Tunsil, Lakewood: Considering injuries, discipline problems and graduation, Tunsil kept her team together and went to the final four for the second straight year.


Player of the Year: G Gary Simon, Sr., Gibbs

Why we picked him: After losing four starters to graduation from last year’s state semifinal team, Simon had to become the leader if the Gladiators wanted to stay atop the county. Simon did his part, averaging 18.4 points, four rebounds and two steals. Thanks to his offensive production, as well as strong defensive play, Gibbs was undefeated against county competition during the regular season. The only thing the Gladiators were unable to do was make another playoff appearance after being upset by Boca Ciega in the district semifinals. Still, Simon was a unanimous selection among coaches as player of the year.

Most impressive accomplishment: Simon led Gibbs to its first Pinellas County Athletic Conference title since 1988. In the championship game against East Lake, Simon had a team-high 18 points, including a 3-pointer early in the second quarter that helped the Gladiators snap out of a seven-minute scoring drought and ignite a comeback.

Did you know? Simon, a two-sport star, wore lucky orange and blue socks for every football and basketball game this season. He said he has two pair and washes them frequently.

What’s next: In February, Simon signed to play football at Oklahoma. He also plans to play basketball with the Sooners. He is working out now and will report to Oklahoma on June 11, three days after graduation.

First team
G Luke Blume, Sr., Shorecrest: Scored a combined 57 points in two district games and helped lead team to first state final four berth.

G Ryan Green, Jr., St. Petersburg Catholic: Two-sport star was the Barons’ go-to guy, averaging 22 points.

F David Jones, Sr., St. Petersburg: Inside force averaged 16 points, seven rebounds and four blocked shots.

G Jeremy Mogged, Sr., East Lake: Averaged 14 points per game and led Eagles to region semifinals.

G Dallas Moore, Jr., Boca Ciega: Averaged a county-best 25 points per game and led Pirates to an upset of Gibbs in district semifinals.

Second team
G Demontrae Adams, Jr., St. Petersburg

F Michael Clark, So., Boca Ciega

G Dayon Griffin, So., St. Petersburg

G Ricky Quiroz, Sr., Shorecrest

G Noah Weller, Jr., Seminole

Honorable mention
Admiral Farragut: Ibrahima Camara, Alvin Cunningham, Max Eaton; Calvary Christian: Derek Barnes; Canterbury: P.J. Franklin; Clearwater: Steven Bradford, Joe Lampley, Matt Misner; Clearwater Central Catholic: Gary Wintermeier; Countryside: Darnell Lovett, Jared Siminski, Ryan Vince; Dunedin: Peyton Bock; East Lake: George Campbell, Blake Grimm, Balazs Orzo; Gibbs: Javonta Pearson, Shaquille Speights; Indian Rocks Christian: Sean Culkin, Ryan Ferguson; Keswick Christian: Derek Sanson; Lakeside Christian: Caleb Coffman; Lakewood: Jacobi Boykins, Frezell Roux, Shabazz Waller; Largo: Donavan Hale, Chris Skukalek; Northeast: Adam Barker, Patrick Mitchell; Northside Christian: Joe Chapman, Jeff Golden; Osceola: Freeman Hinson, Jake Ward; Palm Harbor University: Parker Neu; Pinellas Park: Corey Edwards, Nic Preradovic; Seminole: Matt Cassity, Justin Hollis, Jarron King; Shorecrest: Jay Joyer; Johnny Koenig; St. Petersburg: Devann Owens; St. Petersburg Catholic: Kevin O’Donnell; Tarpon Springs: JT Aguilar

Coach of the year
Chris Blackwell, St. Petersburg
After a few bumps in January, Blackwell got his team playing its best when it mattered most as the Green Devils went on a tear in the postseason, culminating with the school’s state final four berth since 1972.

Rodney Page and Bob Putnam, Times staff writers

Players in post


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours