Times' all-Pinellas County girls soccer



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Wed. March 10, 2010 | Bryan Burns

Player of the year
F Catherine Brinkman, Sr., Palm Harbor University

Why we picked her: Brinkman is the prototypical forward. When she has the ball near the net with a sliver of an opening, she finishes with clinical precision. The top scorer on the Hurricanes’ Class 6A state championship team – more than double any teammate – Brinkman is also an exceptional passer and her ability to defend as a forward led to opponents’ turnovers and more scoring opportunities for her teammates and herself.

Most impressive accomplishment: In four seasons at PHU, Brinkman played in three state finals and was on two state championship squads. In 88 career games, she scored 110 goals.

Did you know? Brinkman, an Elon University signee, had 40 goals to lead the county yet never registered more than three in any game. PHU coach John Planamenta’s policy is to substitute a player who scores a hat trick with the game in hand. Had Brinkman stayed on the field in some of the Hurricanes’ blowouts, 50 goals would not have been out of the question.

First team
F Sierra Lelii, Jr., Seminole:
Electrifying playmaker scored a team-high 34 goals for Class 5A runnerup.
F Tatiana Perez, Sr., East Lake: Speedy Florida signee had 16 goals to lead way for region semifinalist.
F Zoe Lombard, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Scored 18 goals, assisted on 13 others and took over at sweeper when injuries beset the Hurricanes.
M Niki Carter, Sr., St. Petersburg: North Florida signee with speed to burn was one of the county’s best crossers of the ball.
M Stephanie Ferro, Sr., East Lake: The engine behind East Lake’s high-powered attack, Ferro, who signed with Florida Atlantic, assisted on 21 goals.
M Thea Linkfield, Sr., Countryside: Attacking midfielder scored 33 goals, third most all time for a season at Countryside.
M Gina Hayduke, So., Seminole: Had 20 goals, 13 assists and scored the Warhawks’ lone goal in the state final. Also played forward and defender.
D Megan Lawrence, Sr., Seminole: Versatile team leader had 23 goals and was the Warhawks’ top defender during their playoff run.
D Colleen Lynch, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Steadying presence in the back could start the ’Canes’ attack with her long, accurate passes.
D Shannon Walisch, Sr., Palm Harbor University: Voted defensive MVP by a squad that allowed four goals all season.
GK Kim Cohn, Sr., Countryside: Cougars’ netminder, who will play for Wofford next season, recorded 11 shutouts behind a freshman-laden defense.

Second team

F Lindsey Cooper, Jr., Clearwater Central Catholic
F Kelsey Dougherty-Howard, Sr., St. Petersburg Catholic
M Jensen Eifert, Sr., Indian Rocks Christian
M Noel Forsman, Sr., Seminole
M Paige Lombard, So., Palm Harbor University
M Casey McKeon, Sr., St. Petersburg Catholic
M Kendall Narum, Sr., Countryside
D Cina Salemi, Sr., Palm Harbor University
D Ashley Haight, Sr., East Lake
D Jolie Annichiarico, Sr., Clearwater Central Catholic
GK Casey Merson, Sr., Seminole

Honorable mention
Julia Bosacki, Casey Perkins; Clearwater Central Catholic: Torey Camporini, Jenn Marzi, Kaitlin Parker; Countryside: Tanya Bawkins, Gabby Farley, Alyssa Rosati; Dixie Hollins: Amanda Boylson; Dunedin: Kaley Blades, Christy Rickrode; East Lake: Alicia Aldridge, Amanda Byrne, Madison Del Duca, Karina White; Indian Rocks Christian: Kristen Brown, Kate Voitier; Lakewood: Chelsea Jeffares, Katie Lally; Largo: Fontana Cogino, Ronnica Harris, Carole Whitman, Northeast: Lindsey Brown, Kathryn Sexton; Northside Christian: Stephanie Bonalewicz; Osceola: Brittney Bennett, Lindsey DiLeonardo; Palm Harbor University: Nikki Brewer, Anja Decker, Queli Ornelas, Kelly Phipps; Pinellas Park: Alyssa Doheny, Sidney Prince, Vickie Saucedo; Seminole: Tara Belvin, Melanie Benner, Jordyn Turner, Sydney Wendel; Shorecrest: Jenn Casey, Brooke Davis, Natalie Harris; St. Petersburg: Christina Mendoza, Adriana Rodrigues, Christina Rosetti, Nastassja Saitta; St. Petersburg Catholic: Maggie Dalessio, Meggie Dougherty-Howard, Alyee Gilbert, Chelsea Reynes; Tarpon Springs: Rachel Deschene, Maryah Finch

Coach of the year
John Planamenta, Palm Harbor University

Was this Planamenta’s best squad in seven seasons at PHU? Hurricanes didn’t lose all year for the first time under the veteran coach and outscored opponents 20-1 in seven playoff wins.


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours