Times' North Suncoast girls and boys golf teams



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video



Sat. December 8, 2012 | Matt Baker | Email

Mitchell's Dylan Strout AATL's Mallory Etcheberry

Boys golfer of the year: Dylan Strout, Sr., Mitchell
After earning all-North Suncoast honors as a junior, Strout continued to dominate this fall. He was the Class 2A, District 11 champion on a Mustangs team that won the tournament, and he shot 77 at region to earn a second straight trip to state. He was also a first-team all-Sunshine Athletic Conference pick.
Most impressive accomplishment: Strout had an impressive 2011 season when he became the first boy in Mitchell history to qualify for state. He advanced there again this fall but was more relaxed. He improved from 19 over in 2011 to 17 over this year, finishing tied for 52nd. “It was unbelievable,” Strout said. “Probably the most fun I’ve ever had.”
Future plans: Strout would like to continue playing golf in college, possibly at Saint Leo, while studying sports management. He hopes to make golf his career, either as a touring professional or as a golf pro or course manager.
Did you know? Strout was hooked on golf after playing at a summer camp when he was 6. But he has lots of other hobbies, including fishing, working on cars and mudding. He and his friends explore Pasco County’s muddy terrain with his blue Ford F-250 pickup truck — raised 10 inches. “I’m a full-time redneck outside the golf course,” Strout said.

Coach of the year
Rick Hyatt, Mitchell.
The SAC coach of the year led his Mustangs to conference and district championships this fall. With Hyatt at the helm, Mitchell continues to be the cream of the North Suncoast.

First team
Ryoto Furuya, Fr., Saddlebrook Prep:
Had the second-best round at the Class A, Region 3 tournament to help Saddlebrook make state, where he tied for 17th individually.
Nick Piro, Sr., Fivay: Picked a good time for one of his best rounds of the season, shooting 77 and winning a playoff at regionals to qualify for the Class A state tournament.
Jake Arnett, So., Nature Coast: Won individual district title as the only golfer under par and missed out on a trip to state by falling to Piro in a playoff.
Ryan Nicoll, Sr., Springstead: Earned a second straight county title and shot 73 at districts to grab individual medalist honors there, too.
Donnie Gabrelcik, So., Mitchell: SAC tournament champion also had a strong showing at districts (76).

Second team
Joe He, So., Saddlebrook Prep
Mitchell Campbell, Sr., Hudson
Jake Schoonover, Sr., Fivay
Mike Stewart, So., River Ridge
Cody Montgomery, Jr., Hernando

Honorable mention
Land O’Lakes: Jordan Dollbaum, Jordan Monds; Mitchell: Anthony Swinford, James Pittman; Nature Coast: Mike DeMaria; Pasco: Austin Riddaugh, Clint Tedder; River Ridge: Michael Dodson; Saddlebrook Prep: Tom Ng, Cameron Mather, Won Jun Lee; Springstead: Brazon Dixon; Sunlake: Jacob Roberts, Brandon Jungbauer; Weeki Wachee: Mike Rampino; Wesley Chapel: Noah Fleck; Wiregrass Ranch: Matt Prenderville; Zephyrhills: Cory Bahr, Stephen Pollock

Girls golfer of the year: Mallory Etcheberry, Sr., Academy at the Lakes
Etcheberry qualified for state with Saddlebrook Prep as a seventh grader and got back to the final tournament of the season as a senior at Academy at the Lakes. She overcame tough conditions and a slow start to shoot 78 in the final round of her high school career and finish 29th at the Class A tournament. “It was a struggle,” Etcheberry said, “but I came back the second day, and at least I did better.”
Most impressive accomplishment: Etcheberry dominated the North Suncoast on her road to states. The 17-year-old blew past competitors with 77 at the A-9 district tournament to earn an 11-stroke victory. She was even more impressive at the A-3 region competition, shooting 75 — nine strokes better than the runnerup. “That was probably the best I was playing the whole season,” Etcheberry said. “I was really confident and comfortable the whole time.”
Future plans: Etcheberry signed with the University of Akron last month. She said she plans to study accounting while playing golf for the Division-I Zips, but she doesn’t have a specific career goal yet.
Did you know? Etcheberry comes from a sports-centric family. Her older sister, Tyler, is a redshirt senior on Akron’s golf team after attending Saddlebrook. Her father, Pat, competed in the javelin at the 1964 Olympics before becoming a strength and conditioning coach at the University of Kentucky. “He made it fun,” Etcheberry said, “so I enjoyed sports and being active. It was never something I had to do, but he encouraged it.”

Coach of the year
Josh Peterson, Fivay.
The first-year coach helped a young team with no stars claim a second straight district championship. Peterson’s Falcons made their first trip to state this season and were the North Suncoast’s only team to advance that far.

First team
Brooke Dalton, Fr., Bishop McLaughlin:
Became the Hurricanes’ first state qualifier by placing second as an individual at the A-3 region tournament.
Hana Lee, Jr., Wesley Chapel: SAC’s golfer of the year was the runnerup at districts and placed third at regionals.
Megan Berube, Sr., Springstead: Indiana State signee and defending North Suncoast golfer of the year claimed a fourth consecutive Hernando County title and placed eighth at regionals.
Stephanie Rodney, Sr., Central: Capped off a strong high school career by shooting 73 to tie for individual medalist honors at districts.
Kae Elliott, Sr., Nature Coast: Was the top individual at districts to help the Sharks advance to the region tournament, where she placed fourth individually.

Second team
Kelly Harris, Fr., Sunlake
Lindsey Ritchey, So., Mitchell
Ashley Richardson, Jr., Mitchell
Heather Muse, Sr., Wiregrass Ranch
Eugenia Urso, Jr., Hernando

Honorable mention
Anclote: Amanda Zammit; Bishop McLaughlin: Hannah DeBella-Stodden; Fivay: Amber Mariano, Taylor Rhoades; Gulf: Sarah Usewick; Land O’Lakes: Eden Shirmohammad; Mitchell: Shyanne Dove, Alexa Oglesby, Mackenzie Bennett; Nature Coast: Cassidy Verdi; Pasco: Kaylee Britton; River Ridge: Heather Stewart; Springstead: Emma Betters, Kylie Van Meter; Wesley Chapel: Allison Kosloski; Wiregrass Ranch: Amanda Teets; Zephyrhills: Danielle Bahr, Sydney Owens, Karisten Deem


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours