Vernon Hargreaves III named a Mr. Football finalist



MORE from our HomeTeam writers.

More Video

HomeTeam Hot Shots
Vote for the top male and female athletes from the bay area
Alex Blasingane, softball, Boca Ciega
Cassidy Davis, softball, Newsome
Ashley Gentz, track, Nature Coast
Shannon Maloney, softball, Chamberlain
Brittany McGee, track, Admiral Farragut
Alfreda Steele, track, Pasco
Kyle Frick, baseball, Mitchell
Vinnie Grybauskas, baseball, Lakewood
Jamari Johnson, track, Seffner Christian
Andrew Lindsay, baseball, Steinbrenner
Branden McLeod, Wesley Chapel baseball
Chris Robin, track, Calvary Christian



Mon. December 10, 2012 | Joey Knight | Email

Vernon Hargreaves III named a Mr. Football finalist

Wharton three-way standout Vernon Hargreaves III, a University of Florida commitment and the nation's top-ranked cornerback according to ESPN, has been named the state's Class 8A player of the year by the Florida Dairy Farmers.

Hargreaves was chosen in a statewide balloting of coaches and media representatives. He automatically becomes one of eight finalists for the Florida Mr. Football Award, also presented by the Florida Dairy Farmers.

Hargreaves (5-foot-11, 185 pounds) finished his senior year with 110 tackles (73 solos), five interceptions, five pass breakups, five caused fumbles and two fumble recoveries. He also had five receptions for 77 yards and two touchdowns, and held for extra points and field goals.

The other players of the year in their respective classifications are Bradenton Manatee QB Cord Sandberg (7A), Lake City Columbia OT Laremy Tunsil (6A), Lake Nona QB Tucker Israel (5A), Yulee RB Derrick Henry (4A), Fort Lauderdale University QB Mike White (3A), Belle Glade Glades Day RB Kelvin Taylor (2A) and Trenton RB Cedric Stokes (A). Also worth noting: Carrollwood Day record-setting running back Robert Davis finished second to Taylor in 2A voting.

Earlier Monday, the Times was first to report Robinson coach Mike DePue has been named the state's 5A coach of the year, becoming one of eight finalists for the state's overall coach of the year honor.



Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours