Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Andy Rufo elected as 33rd president of Francis Wilson Playhouse in Clearwater

Club news

Andy Rufo is the new president of the Francis Wilson Playhouse, elected April 11 at the 81st annual Meeting of the Membership at 302 Seminole St., Clearwater. Also elected to the 12-member volunteer board of directors was Babs Bailey, David Camburn, Dianna Hanger, Kristen Rowell, and Dotti Voegeli.

• • •

On March 25, the Pinellas Education Foundation awarded Doorways Scholarships to more than 140 students in grades 6 through 9 during a presentation at Pinellas Park High in Largo.

Two of those students, Coralis Nieves and Henry Cheung, received scholarships sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Safety Harbor.

Nieves, the daughter of Mercedes Bravo, is a seventh-grader at Safety Harbor Middle.

Cheung, son of Sany Ou, is a freshman at East Lake High.

Kiwanis of Safety Harbor has sponsored thirty Doorways Scholarships since the program's inception in 1992.

• • •

Mai Le, a fifth-grader at Safety Harbor Elementary School, was named Safety Harbor Kiwanis Student of the Month.

Le, a native of Vietnam, came to America as an adoptee at age 9. She consistently puts forth 100 percent in all aspects of her social and academic accomplishments. In addition to being a straight-A student, Mai is gracious, respectful and honest. She does her best to ensure everyone has a fair chance and often puts others before herself. She is highly self-motivated and is looking forward to a wonderful and productive life with her family in America.

She was nominated for the award by her fifth-grade teacher, Ms. Locke. The 11-year-old is the daughter of Terry and Janet Wolford.

• • •

Boy Scout Troop 64 hosted a 100th year Anniversary-Reunion Picnic April 17 at R.E. Olds Park in Oldsmar with more than 125 alumni in attendance, including 10 Eagle Scouts.

Past and present members shared memorabilia, pictures and troop memories. On display were an authentic Scout totem pole, a cub mobile and numerous other items from over the past 46 years. Special honorary guest, Roland Bierworth, assisted in blowing out the candles on the cake as part of the celebration. Bierworth was the troop's first Scoutmaster in 1964.

The troop has had over 600 registered members with 20 Scoutmasters and 21 Eagle Scouts.

Andy Rufo elected as 33rd president of Francis Wilson Playhouse in Clearwater 04/24/10 [Last modified: Saturday, April 24, 2010 1:25pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. 20 local museums are offering free admission or deals Saturday for Free Museum Day

    Visual Arts

    For all the community's support of the arts in the bay area, it's nice to be rewarded with free admission once in a while. And that's exactly what many area museums are offering on Saturday.

    The Museum of Fine Arts in St. Petersburg is among the museums participating in the Smithsonian's Museum Day Live, offering free admission. (LANCE ROTHSTEIN   |  Special to the Times)
  2. Cubs bring some other ex-Rays to Trop such as Wade Davis, Ben Zobrist


    Joe Maddon's first trip back to the Trop is getting most of the headlines tonight, but there are several other familiar faces among the eight former Rays now wearing Cubs uniforms.

  3. Bicyclist in critical condition after colliding with vehicle in St. Petersburg


    ST. PETERSBURG — A bicyclist is in critical condition after he ran a red light and was struck by a car on Monday night, according to the St. Petersburg Police Department.

  4. Myanmar leader sidesteps atrocity allegations in first address on Rohingya crisis (w/video)


    YANGON, Myanmar - In her first major speech Tuesday on the worsening Rohingya crisis, Myanmar's de facto leader, Aung San Suu Kyi, sidestepped allegations of atrocities committed against the stateless Muslim minority and cast the conflict as just one of many problems ailing the country.

    A Rohingya Muslim, who crossed over from Myanmar into Bangladesh, carries his belongings as he arrives at Kutupalong refugee camp, Bangladesh, Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2017. With a mass exodus of Rohingya Muslims sparking accusations of ethnic cleansing from the United Nations and others, Myanmar leader Aung San Suu Kyi on Tuesday said her country does not fear international scrutiny and invited diplomats to see some areas for themselves. [Associated Press]
  5. Florida education news: Free lunch, school routines, spending cuts and more


    FREE LUNCH: Hurricane Irma caused many families to go without income for a week. Many also lost power, and along with it the food in their refrigerators and freezers. Making matters worse, replacing it isn't so easy, as grocery stores have limited supplies. Hoping to ease the burden, the state has asked for …