Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

North Pinellas Clubs for Wednesday, Oct. 9


Related News/Archive

At the Kiwanis Club of Springtime City's 57th annual Charter Night Dinner on Sept. 26, Daryl Waterman was installed as club president by Lt. Governor of Upper Pinellas Mark Lightsey. Also installed at the Greektown Grille meeting were president-elect Kay Skelton, treasurer Sandra Blomstedt and secretary Cindy Isaac.

In other appointments, Dr. Nolan Allen, Brad Badger, Joe Braun, Tom Hanley and Doug Williams will serve on the club's board of directors and immediate past president Richard Blomstedt will continue to serve on the club board for the next year.

David Browder was given the President's Award for outstanding support throughout the year. Legion of Honor Awards were presented to Past Kiwanis Governor of Florida District Elwood Hogan Jr. (50 years), Roy Workman (35 years), Joe Braun (30 years) and Tom Hanley (30 years). Jim Ewbank was commended for his past five years of service as club secretary and for outstanding leadership within club administration and service projects.

Al Fears was awarded the club's 2012-13 Kiwanian of the Year for his Leadership within Young Children-Priority One committee's service projects including the reading project at Reconciler Head Start, 915 Drew St., Clearwater.

Joe Turner, the only remaining charter member, received the club's framed charter document from Richard Blomstedt and then passed it to Waterman, the new president.

"Fifty-seven years in Kiwanis was not ill spent," Turner said. "I am appreciative of all the friends I have accumulated over the years and participation in the projects of Springtime City Kiwanis in our community."

The club's service activities include a free annual children's health fair, college scholarships for graduating Clearwater High seniors, school programs from Head Start through high school, the 51st annual Ed Wells Jr./Kiwanis Invitational Track Meet and holiday gifts to children identified by Isaiah's Inn. In addition, the club provides volunteer support and direct donations to organizations that benefit children and youth in the Clearwater area.

New members are welcome. Call (727) 543-7411, email or visit the club's website at

• • •

Fifth-graders Maggie Wroe from Safety Harbor Elementary and Victoria Brierley and Benjamin Rice from McMullen-Booth Elementary have been selected as Students of the Month by the Safety Harbor Kiwanis Club.

Maggie was selected by her teacher, Robert Ferguson, who based his decision on her good reputation, willingness to always help out and ability to step in and take on adult responsibilities. She was recognized as outstanding as a safety patrol member, helping and guiding younger students. Maggie is an honor student, a Countryside Cougar cheerleader and a student council representative. Charrie Moscardini, president-elect of the Safety Harbor Kiwanis Club, made the trophy presentation.

Victoria Brierley was recognized as an outstanding example of a hard working, talented student who strives for excellence in music and is equally talented in the art room. She inspires fellow students with her positive encouragement.

Benjamin Rice was recognized for consistently demonstrating a desire to go above and beyond expectations in his music studies. He leads by example to seek new opportunities for growth. A natural leader among his peers, Ben displays a positive attitude, quiet example and focused energy.

Both were selected by their teacher, Evelyn Moldal, and Safety Harbor Kiwanis Club president Claire Cousins presented trophies to the pair.

Mail club news to Tampa Bay Times, 1130 Cleveland St., Suite 100-A, Clearwater, FL 33755; fax to (727) 445-4119; or email

North Pinellas Clubs for Wednesday, Oct. 9 10/07/13 [Last modified: Tuesday, October 8, 2013 6:34pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Lightning takes defenseman Cal Foote with top pick in draft

    Lightning Strikes

    CHICAGO — Former Avalanche defenseman Adam Foote said his son Cal lived in the locker room.

    Cal Foote, second from left, is welcomed to the Lightning by GM Steve Yzerman, far left.
  2. It's Rays' turn to pound Orioles pitching (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG - Ah, the fantastic four.

    The Rays smashed the reeling Orioles 15-5 on Friday, scoring a season-high in runs, to climb four games above .500 for the first time since July 1, 2015.

    Rays third baseman Evan Longoria scores on a triple by Logan Morrison during the first inning against the Orioles.
  3. Lightning picks defenseman Cal Foote


    Cal Foote is the son of former Avs defenseman Adam Foote.
  4. Kids today: They don't work summer jobs the way they used to


    WASHINGTON — It was at Oregon's Timberline Lodge, later known as a setting in the horror movie The Shining, where Patrick Doyle earned his first real paycheck.

    Teens Ben Testa, from left, Hannah Waring and Abby McDonough, and Wegmeyer Farms owner Tyler Wegmeyer walk the strawberry rows at the Hamilton, Va., farm in late May.
  5. Jeb Bush back in the hunt for the Marlins, now opposing Derek Jeter


    Associated Press:

    Former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush has switched sides in pursuit of the Miami Marlins, and he’s trying to beat out former teammate Derek Jeter.